COFFEE CHAT: WRAPPING UP THE YEAR…

Good morning!  It’s time to chat over coffee…and ponder the New Year ahead.  Check in over at Bookishly Boisterous to connect with others.

For the past year, I have focused occasionally on my One Word, that inspirational “token” that keeps me grounded.  For 2017, it was HOPE…

  • My book progress this week was minimal, once I finished the first one:  Dead of Winter, by Wendy Corsi Staub (click for review).
  • Currently reading my second book, a NetGalley ARC:  The Girls in the Picture, by Melanie Benjamin.  The story follows the lives of two women in Old Hollywood:  Frances Marion and Mary Pickford.  The pages are turning slowly, as I find myself easily distracted.
  • I have noticed that mysteries and thrillers keep me moving along, while other genres may or may not capture me fully.
  • Coming up this weekend:  First Book of the Year, hosted by Sheila, at Book Journey.  On January 1, my selection will appear on that blog, and also here.
  • Check out my First Books of the Year page, which features books from 2014 and forward.
  • Now that Aubrey’s Prague semester is almost over, she occasionally takes time to kick back in PJs with her roommate.

  • New Year’s Eve:  before the big Take Down of the decorations, I plan to eat popcorn and watch movies…and at midnight, have some Champagne with Dick Clark’s Rockin Eve 2018…

  • Why was it fun to bring out the Christmas decorations…but now that the holiday is over, procrastination rears its head whenever I think about packing them away in the bins?

***

Here’s to a Happy New Year…and Peace on Earth…

 

***

17 thoughts on “COFFEE CHAT: WRAPPING UP THE YEAR…

  1. I hate taking down the decorations, it feels like work!! The new year is a time for reflection and setting of words and goals. Enjoy the popcorn and movies on New Year’s Eve and see you on the 1st book rounds.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. De-Christmasing is definitely less fun than bringing it all out at the start of the season. I’ll put it away a little at a time. I can’t make it to (my local time) midnight on NYE anymore so I celebrate throughout the day as each area of the world rings in the new year. If I’m off my cold meds I’ll do a proper toast (or two) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mary, and sometimes I take a nap in the evening and set the alarm…just so I can watch the ball drop. Ridiculous, right?

      I definitely dislike putting all the decorations away. But one thing at a time sounds like a plan.

      Like

  3. Patty

    You are so nicely organized! I always am in awe of the way you manage your many many blogs!

    Unfortunately our Christmas stuff will linger on for most of next week…until Den and I both get a yearning for clean Christmas free areas again. But knowing me I will put that off for a while!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That is why I don’t put too many decorations out. 🙂

    I never did choose a word last year…just couldn’t think of one. Probably won’t get one for this year either.

    I didn’t think I would be interested in The Girls in The Picture even though I loved her first book.

    I have to put on more layers…it is 2 degrees here, and I am going out.

    BRRRR…have a great day, Laurel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Did you end up reading The Girls in the Picture? I finished it last night late…and strangely, I enjoyed it more toward the end. The beginning plodded along too much for me, so I kept setting it down and doing other things.

      Thanks for visiting, Elizabeth, and I do less Christmas every year…which makes the putting away easier. But it is still a chore!

      I felt really cold last night…I don’t know what the temp was, but I had to use layers. I’m sure it wasn’t 2 degrees here, though. This morning, it is 37 degrees…so definitely no competition for your really low temperature! Stay warm!

      Like

    1. Thanks for visiting, Nise, and I WISH I had already put mine away! Today is the day, though, and luckily, it shouldn’t take long, as I didn’t bring out everything. Every year I bring out less…lol.

      Yesterday I was reading my First Book…and read it until the ball dropped and I had a glass of Champagne…and then read some more. Enjoying it!

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.