HOPE: MORE IMPORTANT THAN EVER….

This morning, as I visited blogs and responded to those who visited my Bookish Friday, I noticed my One Word logo in the sidebar at Serendipity….and realized it has been a while.

Has HOPE carried me along on my journey this year?  Am I finding new optimism in my daily life?

Well, some of the time, but then there are times that I flounder and even throw up my hands in dismay.  Like when my skylight cover repeatedly fell during the big winds of this year; or when the wind destroyed my patio umbrella, requiring a new one…and then I had to find someone to set up the new one.

Yes, these are ordinary setbacks.  But in the past month, I have been fighting a skin irritation (allergic reaction to hair dye?), and right now I’m going through it again.  My daughter does my hair and didn’t test the dye this last time, since it’s the same brand she has always used.  But now she is doing some research…and I’m using the hydrocortisone recommended by the doctor…and my skin is on fire, still, but slowly cooling down.

I may have to let my hair go to its natural color, whatever that might be (gray?) until we find a solution.

Meanwhile, I am still reading and somehow, it does distract me enough…but I have to keep cold compresses close by, too, and wash and change the lotion every few hours.

This happened last month, too, and it took a full week to clear up.  I am HOPING that it will clear up sooner this time, but then, that’s just optimism.

My current read is He Said/She Said, by Erin Kelly, a NetGalley review book that has kept me twisted up as the story weaves the past and the present together, giving us bits of information as we move along.

 

Blurb: In the summer of 1999, Kit and Laura travel to a festival in Cornwall to see a total eclipse of the sun. Kit is an eclipse chaser; Laura has never seen one before. Young and in love, they are certain this will be the first of many they’ll share.

But in the hushed moments after the shadow passes, Laura interrupts a man and a woman. She knows that she saw something terrible. The man denies it. It is her word against his.

The victim seems grateful. Months later, she turns up on their doorstep like a lonely stray. But as her gratitude takes a twisted turn, Laura begins to wonder—did she trust the wrong person?

15 years later, Kit and Laura married are living under new names and completely off the digital grid: no Facebook, only rudimentary cell phones, not in any directories. But as the truth catches up to them, they realize they can no longer keep the past in the past.

***

Just when I thought I had it all figured out, the author threw some more twists our way.

How scary is it to try to escape the world of “digital footprints”?  I tried to imagine living off the grid, and realized, along with these characters, that it is nearly impossible.

***

I have two more NetGalley review books to be released soon:

Beach House for Rent, by Mary Alice Monroe, and The Breakdown, by B. A. Paris. (6/20/17)

 

Then Every Last Lie, by Mary Kubica, is on my shelf and will be released on 6/27/17.

 

 

***

I am hoping to love each of these…and then it’s on to July, where I have three more books from NetGalley.  A busy summer ahead!

Now…if I can only stay free of skin allergies/infections…and broken things in the house…sigh.

Check out my new patio umbrella through the window.

 

***

What is your One Word?  Are you keeping it in your sights on this journey through 2017?

***

11 thoughts on “HOPE: MORE IMPORTANT THAN EVER….

  1. I “hope” your word works toward hopeful the rest of the year. I never did choose a word.

    I probably should have chosen “control” so I stop making bread. LOL!! It’s so good.

    Sorry to hear about your allergic reaction. That must be awful.

    No way could I live off of the grid. 🙂

    I hope you like Breakdown.

    Hope you feel better, and have a good weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope the skin irritation source can be figured out and easily dealt with.
    The books by Monroe and Paris are on my wish list so I’ll watch for your thoughts on them. I’m starting The Sunshine Sisters this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh dear a skin allergy that is itchy would be horrible, feeling sympathy. I think of my word every so often although it doesn’t get me moving!! Time is the one word! Tomorrow I think I will sit down and write some small goals to achieve what I should set out to do – it is time!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am not loving it, Kathryn (the allergy); I had it a month ago, and it took a week to go away, although each day was a little better.

      My daughter is going to have to test my skin for product allergies next time…or skip the color treatment. How bad could that be? LOL.

      Time is a great word. Enjoy setting your goals.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

