NEW YEAR’S EVE THOUGHTS: ON BOOK BUYING, PURGING, & A CLEAN SLATE!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Good morning, and welcome to the last day of 2014!

Isn’t this the day when we gather our thoughts, study our numbers, and evaluate what we have accomplished?  Or it could simply be a day when we grab another cup of coffee and smile with gratitude that another year is just ahead.  A blank slate, if you will.

Tomorrow I will be featuring my First Book of 2015, in Sheila’s event, here.

 

1a1

 

I participated last year, and I have already sent in my photo…the one that Sheila will put into a collage of all of us reading our First Book.

I am tempted to talk about it now…that’s how impatient I get.  But no, that will be later.  Maybe late tonight.

Meanwhile, I have been studying some numbers over at Curl up and Read, where I document my reading by listing books, titles, links…and numbers.  I launched that blog in 2009, when I had 166 unread books on my stacks.  While I haven’t yet cleared out all of my stacks—I keep adding to them!—I did deal with the older books that were sitting there, in one way or another.

Yes, I did some purging this past year, from books to collections, and it was a grueling process.  But I felt a sense of accomplishment afterwards, and my goal—or resolution, if you will—is to make it an ongoing process and avoid the huge piles that have to be sorted in a frenzy.  Here are some recent book donations, below:

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

However, before I get off track, I was updating Curl up and Read, getting ready for the New Year, which involved adding pages and deleting others.  And I noticed my Book Purchases for 2014.  That stack needs work! 

Luckily most of those books are on Sparky, but that means, sometimes, out of sight, out of mind.

I purchased 151 books in 2014!  And, like I said, many are e-books.  But wait for it….I have only read and reviewed 56 of them so far!

There was a trend throughout the year.  I started out moderately, but by November and December, I was downloading and buying like crazy:  18 purchased in November and 11 in December.  May was the other high month with 16 purchases.  Do I suffer from Compulsive Book Buying Disorder?

 

 

compulsive book buying

 

Okay, I can get this under control.  I am not signing up for any challenges to help me with this, as during the past year, I worked to get 32 or so books off my shelves (from previous years), but kept adding to my shelves.

I just love adding books!  I see them on blogs, I find them on Amazon, and CLICK!  It’s all over.

I do try to get freebies now and then, but I have less than 20 books acquired that way, and they are not reflected in my Book Purchases numbers.

I could stay off of Amazon…no, that won’t work.  LOL

Any suggestions?  What works for you?  Are you able to postpone gratification and wait for the books to come to the library?  That seems the sensible thing to do.

I would love to hear your thoughts.  And, by the way, have a WONDERFUL NEW YEAR!

***

 

Happy-New-Year-1-530x280

***

24 thoughts on “NEW YEAR’S EVE THOUGHTS: ON BOOK BUYING, PURGING, & A CLEAN SLATE!

  1. I remember counting the number of eBook purchases this year and was shocked to learn how much it had skyrocketed compared to the previous year. So yeah, book-buying ban in effect for me starting tomorrow, just to get through the TBR pile and get my shelves under control. Yay for the purging; it hurts but as another blogger told me, it has to be done sometimes. I’ll have to do it as well in the new year.

    Happy New Year! Wishing you the best for 2015 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ll bet everyone who reads your blog can identify with the book buying issue. I remember a year or two ago some bloggers put themselves on a year long book buying ban. I don’t know how they did it and I know I’m not strong enough to even try. I took the one-click option off my amazon so at least I stop and think before I click buy, hehe. That’s about all I can offer you.

    Re purging. I’m planning another book purge of books I know I’ll never read. Those will go to the library sale. I also need to go through closets to toss or donate. I’m looking forward to that!

    Happy New Year, Laurel. I have a great feeling about 2015 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Mary, it is encouraging to know that others have the same struggles….and I couldn’t do a complete ban either. I have been trying (lately) to bookmark books I’d like on Amazon….but it is still very easy to revisit the pages and click to buy.

      I got a little crazed with the purging for a while, but it was necessary. Now if I could only do it periodically and not let things get out of hand….Happy New Year!

      Like

  3. Patty

    I am not really worrying about books and how many I have any more…I am just going to relax and read…the only way I keep track is through Goodreads…and I am going to put in a low number so that I can surpass it!

    Happy New Year!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Patty, and I did a lower number for Goodreads in 2014….and surpassed it. But the widget frustrated me…on the WP sites, it doesn’t automatically change when I finish a book. I would have to reenter the code, and that was too much work. So if I do the challenge, I won’t be putting the widget on my WP sites. LOL

      Like

  4. thebookdate

    I have never kept a record of what I buy (denial therefore helps) but in 2015 I am going to monitor my buying and see how many I buy and how much I spend. I think just doing that will prevent me from being 1 Click happy!
    I only book purge those books I only moderately enjoyed, I should do more!

    Like

    1. It does help to keep a record, Kathryn, even though I still buy too many more than I can actually read in a year. I could manage the numbers, except that I am also reading and reviewing Vine books…

      I started the record via the Curl up and Read site, mainly to help me finish reading my way through my stacks, but I also added the pages for purchases (each year has a main page). I do like to know what I’m doing, even if I cringe afterwards…LOL.

      Like

  5. Today I did a little more culling from our main book shelf with books to donate to our library. Shelf is getting pretty sparse, but that’s okay because I get most of the books I read from the library anyway or the Free Library of Philadelphia (online).

    Like

    1. I do want to read more library books…but my problem is impatience. I want the books the minute they come out! Sigh…I am a child of the 60s. Me, me, me…now, now, now! LOL

      Good for you, Bryan, staying on top of your shelves.

      Like

  6. I have no idea how many books I bought in 2014 — but the number would probably scare me. I was doing OK until I got the Kindle. Now it’s just so darn easy to click on title after title. Hoping to be a little more disciplined in 2015. Happy New Year, and happy reading!

    Like

    1. Yes, the Kindle has been my downfall as well. I tell myself that the cheaper prices are what draw me in, but it’s how quickly I can have the book. Delayed gratification is not my thing…LOL.

      Thanks for stopping by, Joy.

      Like

    1. I have heard good things about them, Shelleyrae…I tried Netgalley, but couldn’t upload their offerings onto my Kindle. I have the original version. Maybe I’ll figure it out someday…LOL. Happy New Year!

      Like

  7. Pingback: I COULDN’T HELP MYSELF: — BOOK BUYING ALREADY! | RAINY DAYS AND MONDAYS

  8. swright9

    Yeah I sympathize Laurel. I have a book buying disorder too. I buy print copies though. I try to get them at the Library or have them put on hold but if they don’t have it there then unfortunately I go to the nearest bookstore and unfortunately buy a few there. Yikes! I will try to purge my shelve sometime of books I did not care for. No need to keep those! Good luck to you.

    Like

  9. Pingback: MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: EMBRACING CHANGE? | RAINY DAYS AND MONDAYS

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.