INTERIORS: AN ONGOING PROCESS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

It has been an interesting month so far, clearing out the interiors and organizing my stuff.

I just finished reading a novel about an elderly woman (age 94!) who hires a young man to help her clear out her spaces…to hide her secrets from her children and grandchildren.  (The Twilight Hour, by Nicci Gerrard; click for my review).

 

22852979

 

Over the past couple of years, I have gravitated to books about hoarding, and while I don’t think I had ever reached that state, I did worry about the steady accumulation of STUFF.  My purging started with the clearing out of my files, trunks, drawers, books, and then the garage.

In this photo (below), you can see the right side of my garage, which still needs work.  But that stuff in the boxes belongs to my daughter, who is settling into her new home and readying a space there for her things…I’m hoping!

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yesterday was a great one for clearing out, as someone came from a recycling center and hauled away the old TV that was sitting on that barbecue cart in the forefront.

See the black trash bag next to it?  I have it ready for tossing out stuff as I go, just so things won’t accumulate.  And underneath it is the box of books for the library, soon to be delivered there.

Most of my bins are on the shelves, but the one in the far corner, near the door, is Christmas stuff.  Those bins are heavy, so I have been keeping them down low.  I have a few of those on the bottom shelves of my other shelving unit (at the top of this post).

Do you think I’m almost done?  Probably not.  My goal is to slowly weed things out as I go, avoiding the need for the humongous purges.

***

How do you deal with your STUFF?  Do you have goals, or do you go with the flow? 

***

3 thoughts on “INTERIORS: AN ONGOING PROCESS

  1. I think that now I have goals for dealing with stuff…it seems important to get rid of stuff now…I yearn for free clear spaces. I could never tolerate bare walls…I always needed to fill them…but now I can see the beauty in dressers and tables without clutter! Your bins look really neat…I would want to nudge my daughter to come and get her stuff…lol!

    Like

    • I have been fairly regular in my nudges to my daughter, but she isn’t biting yet…she keeps saying “soon.”

      I know that she is busy, working long hours, etc., and also getting things done around her house. Like me, she is a perfectionist and wants to have everything perfect by Thanksgiving, I’m sure.

      I love stuff on the walls…and I am gradually removing some of the stuff from tables.

      I am so happy that the big fat TV is gone…it looks so much better in the garage now.

      Thanks for stopping by, Patty.

      Like

  2. Pingback: NEW YEAR’S EVE THOUGHTS: ON BOOK BUYING, PURGING, & A CLEAN SLATE! | AN INTERIOR JOURNEY

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

