COFFEE CHAT: BOOKS, MOVIES, & NAPS…

Welcome to another Coffee Chat, in which we share bookish and not so bookish thoughts.  Head on over to Bookishly Boisterous to add your link.

 

As much as I dislike hearing Trump speak, I did record the SOTU address to watch afterwards…so I could FF through parts of it, as needed.  As it turned out, I didn’t use the FF button…I was fascinated with studying the audience, especially Nancy Pelosi’s dignified and polite disengagement.  I think that was what her body language told us.  The Congress women all in white were great, too.  My takeaway from it all:  it was an attempt from him to seem bipartisan, but with little digs and veiled threats.  For example:  If Congress wants legislation, they must give up their “ridiculous investigations.” 

  • This morning, I watched Stephen Colbert from my DVR.  He always cheers me up.
  • Today, for some reason, I was extremely tired.  Staying up past midnight to view the recording took a lot out of me.  I took a very long nap this afternoon, and then started reading The Best of Us, by Robyn Carr.  I do like the Sullivan’s Crossing setting.
  • Yesterday I finished reading Untouchable, by Jayne Ann Krentz, the third book in the Quinton Zane trilogy (click title for my review).
  • Today I finally got an e-book from the  library that has been on hold for ages, it seems:  The Making of Us, by Lisa Jewell:

  • On Prime, I watched RBG, and loved every minute of it.  Now I want some of the mugs and T-Shirts (Notorious RBG).

  • I had a microwaveable turkey dinner tonight that was almost tasteless.  Yuk!  Then I scrubbed the microwave.
  • This is one of the reasons I go out for dinner a lot!  On Monday, I had this pot pie with some wine…and a book.

  • I ran errands yesterday—some banking, some grocery shopping—reasons why I haven’t really accomplished a lot this week.
  • I spent a few hours changing my social networking text box on each blog, removing the Google+ code.  Is anyone frustrated by its removal?  I never actually used it, but had it in my blog sidebars.
  • Friday I am scheduled for my weekly hair styling…does this mean I am back on track after missing one week?
  • My manicurist has been in Florida for two months, so I’ve had substitutes at the salon…which is all right, except I like chatting with her and listening to her stories.  I will schedule a mani-pedi for when she gets back this month.

***

What events/books/movies have engaged you this week?

***

9 thoughts on “COFFEE CHAT: BOOKS, MOVIES, & NAPS…

  1. Did you see Nancy Pelosi wave her hand whenever people started booing Trump? I understand why she did it but man I wish she would’ve let them do it.

    I love that RBG mug!

    That pot pie and salad look soooo goooood.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for visiting, Jinjer…I think the hand wave sent a message of disapproval, while being seemingly polite. I read this on one site from her daughter: “Christine Pelosi posted to Twitter Wednesday that the image reminded her of her teen years: “She knows. And she knows that you know. And frankly she’s disappointed that you thought this would work. But here’s a clap. #youtriedit”

      It’s amazing how she can communicate so much with small gestures.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Life’s little gains and losses. Your loss being the microwave dinners…I hope it wasn’t a Marie Calledar’s…we kind of love those! You probably should have been drinking when you watched the SOTU…and wearing white pajamas?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for visiting, Patty, and no, it wasn’t a Marie Callender’s…I enjoy those. It was a lean cuisine, I think, but not one of their better ones. Sigh.

      Ah, yes, drinking and white pajamas might have been a good choice. LOL

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.