WEEKLY UPDATES: RAINY DAY READING, ETC.

Good morning! Today’s post will link up to The Sunday Salon, The Sunday Post and Stacking the Shelves, for weekly updates.

**Mailbox Monday is hosted at the home site: Mailbox Monday.

And let’s join Kathryn, our leader in It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?, at Book Date.

 

We have had some rain this week, but so far, not a lot of wind or damage.  Rainy days and nights are good for reading, but I only read and reviewed two books this week.  They were enjoyable, so that’s what counts, right?  I wrote seven blog posts. Movies I watched from Prime included a couple of oldies, like Still of the Night, with Meryl Streep and Roy Scheider;  one I had seen back in the 80s, but it almost felt like the first time for me.  Funny when that happens.  I also watched RBG, and loved it, too…and that led to my Amazon order of a mug…and a T-shirt.  LOL

This weekend, I really need to catch up on chores…although I dreamed I was dusting and vacuuming last night.  Does that count?  LOL.

Now I need to grab another cup of coffee and take a closer peek at the week.

LAST WEEK ON THE BLOGS:

Sunday Sparks:  Weekend Connections…

Tuesday Excerpts:  “She Lies in Wait”

Tuesday Potpourri:  Book Releases, Etc.

Hump Day Reading…

Coffee Chat: Books, Movies, & Naps…

Thursday Sparks:  Igniting Our Connections…and Memories

Bookish Friday:  “The Making of Us”

Review:  Untouchable (e-book), by Jayne Ann KrentzReview:  The Best of Us (e-book), by Robyn Carr

***

INCOMING BOOKS: (Titles/Covers Linked to Amazon)

 

Empty physical mailbox!  I did receive a library book from Libby, and one NetGalley review ARC came in my inbox.  Plus…I downloaded two new purchases.

Because You’re Mine (e-book), by Rea Frey – (NG – 8/6/19)

Because You’re Mine by Rea Frey, the author who “brings to mind Jodi Picoult” (Booklist) and “will appeal to readers of Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen” (Sally Hepworth) is a novel about how the truth will set you free.

***

The Making of Us (e-book), by Lisa Jewell (Library Book)

“compelling and heartbreaking” (Jojo Moyes) novel about three strangers who are brought together by the father they never knew.

***

Purchased Downloads:

I Owe You One (e-book), by Sophie Kinsella

I Invited  Her In (e-book), by Adele Parks

***

WHAT’S NEXT? 

Daisy Jones & the Six, by Taylor Jenkins Reid…a NG ARC of a book to be released on March 5.

A gripping novel about the whirlwind rise of an iconic 1970s rock group and their beautiful lead singer, revealing the mystery behind their infamous breakup.

***

What did your week look like?  I went out to eat a couple of times…today I’ll share this lovely chocolate dessert from CPK last weekend.

***

75 thoughts on “WEEKLY UPDATES: RAINY DAY READING, ETC.

  1. Dreaming definitely counts… if you dreamed it it must be done, right? There you go… instant free time lol. Glad it was a pretty good week. I haven’t seen a Roy Scheider movie in ages, seems like.

    Daisy Jones and the Six looks pretty awesome. and that cover reminds me of a 70’s era AC/DC cover- I wonder if that’s intentional? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha-Ha, Greg, I like your take on “dreaming counts.” If we’re going to dream about chores, they should count for something!

      I love the cover of Daisy Jones and the story about a 70s band. So far it is a fascinating read.

      Enjoy your week.

      Like

  2. We’ve had a ton of rain, which we need, and i agree it’s nice for reading. Glad to see you enjoyed The Best of Us! Untouchable was entertaining but I liked the previous book a little better. I loved Still of the Night back in the ’80s! I didn’t know it was available on Prime but you can bet I’ll be watching it again!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dreaming of housework – lol… It sounds like Spring Cleaning is knocking on your door. As for two books – as you say, it’s the enjoyment that counts. I only read two books this week, too:). I hope this coming week is a good one for you, Laurel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mary, and the dream would only have been a good one if I woke up to find the house clean! LOL.

      I enjoyed the previous book, too. Now I have eight books on the NG shelf: three for March, one for April, and four for August!

      Have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Trin, and I do love collecting mugs. Some are containers for odds and ends, while others just show off their inscriptions. I seldom drink coffee in them, as I worry about breaking them. Although I haven’t broken a mug in ages, except for the time one of my decorative ones got cracked when I was dusting and another, bigger item fell on it! That should teach me not to dust. LOL.

      I like the sound of that inscription.

      Like

  4. Oh, I need that chocolate dessert right about now! I have to food-shop today so who knows what I might bring back 🙂
    I’m a fan of RGB, but haven’t read the books about her yet. Your mug is awesome. My son did meet Sonia Sotomayor and had a pic taken with her when she visited his law school a few years ago. Two strong women!
    And yes to Because You’re Mine and The Making of Us– don’t have them, but want them now.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bwahahaha Laurel you are industrious in your dreams!!! Sorry to say but I don’t think that counts. I wish though 😉 And yes quality over quantity as far as reading is concerned. Happy Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I want to see the RBG movie. I love the mug! I downloaded Because You’re Mine, too. It looks good and I enjoyed another book by this author. Your chocolate dessert looks delicious. Hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ah chocolate dessert. I think I’d like to see the RBG movie. I don’t watch much tv or movies though. I need to vacuum but I can’t get excited about it. Last week was nice but we’re getting the cold and the rain is coming. Have a great week and enjoy your new reads!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Anne, I loved the RBG movie…and the documentary. I don’t hate vacuuming as much as dusting…sigh. And, of course, the dusting comes first. I’ve thought of skipping to the vacuuming and calling it a done deal. LOL.

      I realize I am obsessing here…so I think I’ll go read some more. Enjoy your week.

      Like

  8. We had about three inches of snow today. That groundhog definitely was wrong. 🙂 ENJOY the rain. 🙂

    ENJOY I Invited Her In. It is YOUR kind of book, Laurel. 🙂

    The Making Of Us looks good.

    Have a good week…can’t believe another week has passed.

    Elizabeth

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Elizabeth, I have been eyeing I Invited Her In…and I agree that it will be my kind of read.

      Our rain is intermittent, which is okay, except I’m sure we need more. However, there has been good snowfall in the mountains, and that will bring our rivers and lakes up. I hate it when they are almost dry in the springtime.

      Enjoy your week!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I don’t think dreaming of dusting and vacuuming actually counts, but I wish it did! Maybe then I could dream about my characters doing chores and they could do it all!

    I guess I read two books this last week, but it feels like one because it seems like I haven’t had much time to read. Hope you get a lot of reading done this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Brooke, I do need to step up the reading, as I have ARCs to finish for March, April…and August. Plus, the TBR with unread books that go way back. However, I manage to topple a few off the stacks every month.

      Enjoy your reading…and wouldn’t it be fun to get your characters to step in to clean.

      Like

    • Thanks, Candace, I also love the T-shirt, which I wore yesterday. I should probably get some earbuds and download audio onto my phone. I realized that listening doesn’t work for me if I’m just sitting on the couch or my exercise bike, as I don’t get very far on any book that way.

      Enjoy your week.

      Like

  10. I LOVE that mug!!!! Awesome! We had a big weekend of stuff – and none of it was cleaning. Lol. I really need to work on that today while my kiddo is at school. And rainy days are great for reading, but also napping, drinking tea, watching television..lol. I love a rainy day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Erin, and I especially love songs about rainy days (and nights). “I love a rainy night, I love a rainy night” is a song that, once I start hearing it makes me want to dance. LOL

      Enjoy your week, and I’m glad you could visit.

      Like

  11. Where you had rain, we had snow. It is lovely but I’ve had enough now. Only two more storms are forecast for this week. It is good for reading but not for exercising. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Nice selection of books this week. The first two sound fabulous. I Invited Her In seems interesting too. Love the mug.

    Have a great week and thanks for visiting my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.