FROM THE INTERIOR: THINNING OUT MY BOOKSHELVES

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

With my son’s help, I cleared out the top shelves of this bookcase….but today, I went further, and see (below), here is the evidence of even more clearing.  Note the second, third, and bottom shelves, almost “empty” of books, with the figurines shuffled around a bit:

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The total number of books cleared out today:  FIFTY-SIX!

Can you believe it?  I was ruthless, not clinging to what I might otherwise have hung onto.  Why?  I asked myself if I would ever read them again, and the answer was “no.”  So off they went to the bookcase in the garage.  Soon they will go to the library donation bins.

So that was my purging for the day.

***

I haven’t read much today, mostly watching movies from my DVR.  It is almost cleared out, too.  I am getting ready for all the shows that will be on the DVR with the new season offerings, especially the ones for next Sunday!

Madame Secretary, The Good Wife, The Leftovers, and The Affair, to name a few.

I am still reading The Good Neighbor, by Amy Sue Nathan.

 

 

51NZBv+QPvL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Single mom, school counselor, and blogger….and why is she lying on her blog?

Of course there will probably be a dramatic reveal, and she will be shunned by the blogging world.  Just guessing!

Has anyone read it?

***

Off to read some more.  Have a great new week!

***

9 thoughts on “FROM THE INTERIOR: THINNING OUT MY BOOKSHELVES

  1. As I began I was worried it might be like those find the differences puzzles – but I can see the difference! You are right that so many we never read again and they will bring joy to some other reader.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Kathryn, and at first glance, it doesn’t look that different…but the bottom shelf had really high stacks, which are shielded a bit by the pub table in front of that shelf.

      And the second and third shelves have fewer books, too.

      I know that I have been hanging onto so many books because I love the feel of them around me…but I can still have that feeling without so many books…LOL.

      Like

  2. I’ve been purging my own shelves with the thought of packing up the house (in a few years) in mind. I took several bags of books to the library last week and I felt a bit lighter when I got home 🙂 Congrats on all the work you’re doing. It looks great.

    Like

  3. Pingback: INTERIOR THOUGHTS: IS THERE AN END TO THE PURGING? | AN INTERIOR JOURNEY

  4. Pingback: WEEKLY UPDATES: BOOKSHELF CLEARING & BANNED BOOK WEEK | RAINY DAYS AND MONDAYS

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.