COFFEE CHAT: ANOTHER YEAR & MORE ADVENTURES…

Welcome to my Coffee Morning and a journey into my random thoughts.  In the photo above, I caught the sunlight streaming into my office and liked the effect.  Behind the coffee mug is my short stack of “up next” print books TBR. 

Join the others at Bookishly Boisterous to link up.

I didn’t leap out of bed this morning, but lay there a while, pondering the day ahead…and reflecting on yesterday, my birthday.  Birthdays add another year, but we also get to chat with and spend time with family and friends.

  • I joined my daughter….

                                                  for margaritas and Mexican food…

  • But before I left to meet my daughter, I had a nice chat with my LA son, and enjoyed the celebratory texts and FB messages from others.
  • A friend/former colleague and I will have lunch next Wednesday.  That friendship had interesting beginnings.  It was 1972, and I was living in a desolate town in the Southwest part of the county called Coalinga, with my husband and three children under five.  I got a job for the county, and she was my first supervisor.  We worked together, socialized after hours with family, had disagreements at times, and after all these years, post-retirement, we continue as friends, agreeing on the important things and laughing about how we can still predict what the other will feel about certain issues.
  • Yesterday also brought a welcome e-mail from the time share company from which I am trying to extricate myself…I don’t use it any more, and my LA son, who has been enjoying it for the most part, is tired of it.  We reached an agreement!  I can relinquish it back to them, a big relief!
  • When I did use the time share, I had some great vacations.  One of my favorites was the week I spent in Napa, CA, a bittersweet memory in light of recent wildfire destruction.  I loved the Wine Train lunch:

  • I also spiritually connected with Nature in Sedona, AZ’s  Red Rock Country:

  • But now I love reading, movies, and short trips to the beach.  I’ve read and reviewed two books so far this week:  Odd Child Out, by Gilly Macmillan, and Then She Was Gone, by Lisa Jewell.  (Click for my reviews).  Both were totally engaging.
  • Today I start reading White Bodies, by Jane Robins:  “This chilling psychological suspense novel—think Strangers on a Train for the modern age—explores the dark side of love and the unbreakable ties that bind twin sisters together.”
  • Later today…another mani-pedi.  I have come to luxuriate in the pampered feeling of the experience.  For years I had only occasional manicures, and seldom had pedicures.  Now I consider it part of my regular routine…every few weeks.

***

These are my random and eclectic thoughts for the day.  Come on by and share yours!

***

16 thoughts on “COFFEE CHAT: ANOTHER YEAR & MORE ADVENTURES…

    1. Thanks, Elizabeth, I always enjoy writing this Thursday post…it helps me to look back at the week and reflect on what is coming up next.

      I do miss having all of my family around me, but thanks to our technological age of texting and FB, we connect regularly.

      Have a great day!

      Like

  1. Now, I too, love reading, watching movies and short trips. I’m going to share a post soon about my luxurious 23rd wedding anniversary and how after a few days we cut it short because I was ready to get back to my comfortable, book-filled house with hubby. LOL.

    I love the effect of the sun rays coming into your office. ( :

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patty

    Enjoying mains and pedis is a welcome ritual. I love that you had a lovely birthday…I love that you have time to contemplate life and I am jealous that you are reading so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Nise, I considered the settling of the time share a birthday gift! I got the e-mail on my birthday. When I bought it ten years ago, I had big plans to enjoy it…and I did for a while. Then everything changed. The company went bankrupt, and the one that took over started charging horrendous maintenance fees. They tripled almost immediately! Not fun at all.

      Like

  3. Belated Happy Birthday Laurel – I have a friend who I’m meeting up with next week for a short break and we’ve been friends for nearly 30 years – like your relationship, we don’t agree on everything but we laugh an awful lot together – the best medicine indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Cleo, and I believe that the foundation for longevity in relationships, despite disagreements, includes the laughter and common interests. There is nothing better than a friendship that lasts. Enjoy your get-together with your friend.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.