BALANCING THE TBR STACKS: ANOTHER LOOK…

keeping track - tbr mountain

 

Lately, you’ve seen several posts about my interior world, specifically how I am shuffling things around.  But what about my Tracking of my TBR Mountains?  What is happening there?

I did a little counting game today, checking out the numbers.  We do know that I’ve read 36 books from my purchased stacks for the period from June 2015-2016, for my Read the Books You Buy Challenge.

But how have these numbers impacted my stacks of purchased books, overall?

Let’s take a look:

Books Purchased in 2015:

95

Books Classified as DNF for 2015:

6

Books Still Unread for 2015:

15

***

So…not bad.

Books Purchased in 2016:

54 (so far)

Books Unread in 2016:

31 (so far)

***

Unfortunately, I keep pushing that little “click to buy” button whenever a book I want appears.  I am trying to request many of my longed-for books as review books, and I have accomplished that, to a certain extent.

 

HERE ARE BOOKS I RECEIVED FOR REVIEW, SO FAR, IN 2016; ALL OF THEM WERE BOOKS I WOULD HAVE PURCHASED.  THE LINKED BOOKS HAVE ALREADY BEEN READ & REVIEWED:

 

JANUARY 2016:

1.   After She’s Gone, by Lisa Jackson (Vine)

2.  Don’t You Cry (e-book), by Mary Kubica (NetGalley – 5/17)

3.   Girls in the Garden, The (e-book), by Lisa Jewell (NetGalley – 6/7)

4.  Good Liar, The, by Nicholas Searle (Amazon Vine)

5.  Miller’s Valley (e-book), by Anna Quindlen (NetGalley – 4/5)

6.  Multiple Listings (e-book), by Tracy McMillan (NetGalley – 3/8)

7.   No One Knows (e-book), by J. T. Ellison (NetGalley – 3/22)

***

FEBRUARY 2016:

1.  A Girl’s Guide to Moving On, by Debbie Macomber – (Amazon Vine)

2.   Girls, The (e-book), by Emma Cline – (NetGalley – 6/14)

3.  Where I Lost Her (e-book), by T. Greenwood – (NetGalley – 2/23)

***

MARCH 2016:

1.  Children, The (e-book), by Ann Leary – (NetGalley – 5/24)

2.   Most Wanted (e-book), by Lisa Scottoline – (NetGalley – 4/12)

3.   Perfect Neighbors, The (e-book),  by Sarah Pekkanen (NetGalley – 7/5)

***

APRIL 2016:

1.  Cruel Beautiful World (e-book), by Caroline Leavitt (NetGalley – 10/4)

2.  June, by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore (Amazon Vine)

3.   Mother Knows Best,  by Karen MacInerney – (Amazon Vine)

4.   Three-Martini Lunch, by Suzanne Rindell –(Amazon Vine)

***

MAY 2016:

1.   All the Missing Girls (e-book), by Megan Miranda – (NetGalley – 6/28/16)

2.  I Almost Forgot About You, by Terry McMillan – (Amazon Vine)

3.  Ink & Bone (e-book), by Lisa Unger (NetGalley – 6/7)

***

JUNE 2016:

1.  All Is Not Forgotten (e-book), by Wendy Walker – (NetGalley – 7/12)

1.  Beach Blues, by Joanne DeMaio (Author Request)

2.  Tuesday Nights in 1980, by Molly Prentiss (Amazon Vine)

 

***

Balancing the reading of my review books against those purchased is a challenge, but when I remember that these review books would otherwise have been on my “purchased” lists, I feel better.

***

Do you play games with yourself, adding up your purchases and examining what you’ve accomplished?  I know that there would be NO BALANCE in my life if I didn’t keep an eye out.

Which doesn’t mean that I won’t keep “clicking to buy”!

 

 

compulsive book buying

 

***

14 thoughts on “BALANCING THE TBR STACKS: ANOTHER LOOK…

  1. Patty

    You are so organized! The only change I have made is that I rarely buy books any more…if I don’t get it to review I use Overdrive or Vine…it works for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a terrific post, Laurel.

    Love it.

    I do have a HUGE stack of review books to juggle and keep a pretty close eye on it. 🙂

    Looks like you are doing a great job of keeping track and “balancing” things. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing.

    Elizabeth

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Elizabeth, I need to do these little exercises every now and then, to check out my progress, and to feel a little bit in control. Because most of the time, I think I’m not in control, and way out of balance. LOL. Glad you enjoyed the post, and thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  3. I’ve stopped thinking about trying to organize my books because then I’d realize I have a problem, LOL. My goal is to try to read more of my own books – lately I seem to read only review galleys.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mary, but if I didn’t have my own somewhat OCD method of organizing them, I would surely be lost. In fact I was exactly in that place when I was getting ready to move and having to separate the books I’d read from the unread. Blogging has made the process more manageable for me.

      Plus, having most of my review galleys (and purchases) on my Kindle makes it all easier. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  4. You are doing really well with reading the books you buy – there will be a post on my blog to link up and share towards the end of month or beginning of July. I haven’t done nearly so well, but I am staunchly saying no to too many review books for the second half of the year to catch up with myself a bit. Doesn’t stop me buying though either, especially when fav authors publish!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Kathryn, I don’t know if I am listing them correctly. I have the info listed alphabetically as to when I read each book, and when I purchased them, and linked the titles to my reviews. But I haven’t chosen a percentage for my goals. I guess I’m just trying to accomplish as much as I can.

      I need to cut back on review books, too.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Pat, I do feel more “in control” when I periodically check how I’m doing with the purchased (and review) books. I hope you enjoy June…it was delightful. Glad you could stop by.

      Like

  5. I checked my TBR of purchased and not read books a few weeks past and I am behind 124. I’m now trying to calendar them into my review schedule. You have a great system of keeping track, I may have to borrow a few of your ideas. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Laura, I was desperate to find something that worked when I started my Curl up and Read blog, the site where I track my progress. (Yes, it would probably be good to have everything on one blog, but since I have six, I share the wealth).

      Good luck finding a system that works for you!

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.