MONDAY FROM THE INTERIOR: MAILBOX MONDAY & WHAT ARE YOU READING? — MAY 20

books, etc.-monday memes

Good morning, and welcome to my Monday Memes.  For those who participate in Monday Mailbox, Apple Blossom, of 4 the Love of Books is hosting for May; and, as usual, Book Journey is hosting What Are You Reading?

MAILBOX MONDAY:

189

No physical books arrived for me this week, but I downloaded two new ones for Sparky:  both my purchases.

1.  He’s Gone (e-book), by Deb Caletti

15711421

 

From National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti comes an intensely gripping story about love, loss, marriage, and secrets—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult, Kristin Hannah, and Anna Quindlen.
 
“One of the best books I’ve read all year.”—Barbara O’Neal, author of The Garden of Happy Endings

“What do you think happened to your husband, Mrs. Keller?”
 
The Sunday morning starts like any other, aside from the slight hangover. Dani Keller wakes up on her Seattle houseboat, a headache building behind her eyes from the wine she drank at a party the night before. But on this particular Sunday morning, she’s surprised to see that her husband, Ian, is not home. As the hours pass, Dani fills her day with small things. But still, Ian does not return. Irritation shifts to worry, worry slides almost imperceptibly into panic. And then, like a relentless blackness, the terrible realization hits Dani: He’s gone.

As the police work methodically through all the logical explanations—he’s hurt, he’s run off, he’s been killed—Dani searches frantically for a clue as to whether Ian is in fact dead or alive. And, slowly, she unpacks their relationship, holding each moment up to the light: from its intense, adulterous beginning, to the grandeur of their new love, to the difficulties of forever. She examines all the sins she can—and cannot—remember. As the days pass, Dani will plumb the depths of her conscience, turning over and revealing the darkest of her secrets in order to discover the hard truth—about herself, her husband, and their lives together.

 

2.  No Child of Mine (e-book), by Susan Lewis

81t11bSpyuL._SL1500_

What if you knew a child was in danger – and no one believed you?

Alex Lake’s day job is all about helping people, especially children. She cares about them passionately and does everything in her power to rescue them from those who mean them harm.

When the case of three-year-old Ottilie Wade comes to her attention, Alex feels an overpowering need to make a real difference in the little girl’s life, but no one is prepared to believe that Ottilie is in danger.

In the end, Alex makes a decision that has consequences that no one, least of all Alex, could have foreseen.

 

***

WHAT ARE YOU READING?

 

193

Welcome to our weekly bookish place where we share our adventures in reading.  Come along and join us as we explore other blogs and feel a community spirit.

I’ve had a bit of a busy week with other things….family stuff.  But I’ve still managed to do a little blogging and reading.

Over at Story Corner, I’m eagerly anticipating Some Kind of Cruel (which I’ll be getting this week from Vine!)

Thursday showed us how to enjoy old favorites in Comfort Foods for the Soul.

At Chocolate & Mimosas, I changed the look of my blog and raved about my Newest Guilty Pleasure:  Online Soap Viewing.

And my Sweet Saturday Sample brought the aftermath of a frightening event:  Now What?

Reading-Click Titles for Reviews:

The Bodyguard & the Show Dog, by Christy Tillery French

Walled-In, by J. Elke Ertle

Just Breathe, by Susan Wiggs (From Mt. TBR)

Somewhere Off the Coast of Maine (e-book), by Ann Hood

What’s Up Next? (Click Titles/Covers for More Info)

1.  Don’t Go (e-book), by Lisa Scottoline

41QlE6Z4gOL._AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-46,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

2.  Some Are Sicker Than Others (e-book), by Andrew Seaward (Review book)

13579274

 

3.  The K Street Affair (e-book), by Mari Passananti (Review Book)

61fa0jmTdKL._SL1360_

 

***

And that’s what my week looks like (last week and this week).  Pull up a chair and let’s chat about your week.

 

Advertisements

50 thoughts on “MONDAY FROM THE INTERIOR: MAILBOX MONDAY & WHAT ARE YOU READING? — MAY 20

  1. The K Street Affair has a fun cover. And the He’s Gone cover is lovely. I’m reading The Host by Stephenie Meyer.

    Like

  2. Both your new books appeal to me, I love Deb Caletti’s writing. Must find out more about Some Are Sicker Than Others, the cover caught my eye.
    Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

    Like

  3. What a cool bookshelf arrangement in your background. Would love to have something like that instead of a shelf here and there. Really though, I have like four cases in my bedroom – five if you count the one that’s full of books and knickknacks – I have one in the entry hall, and three in the living room. All stuffed to the gills with books. Books are even double stacked in most of them. I even have two shelves in my garage that have books in them. On top of that I gave away at least 10 boxes of paperbacks the last time I moved (about five years ago). Man, I have an obsession with books…

    Some of the books you have listed are intense (some are sicker than others, K Street Affair…). But they all sound interesting.

    My Reading Week

    Have a great week!

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s