MONDAY FROM THE INTERIOR: MAILBOX MONDAY & WHAT ARE YOU READING? — OCT. 3

CURL UP AND READ!

Welcome to another Monday from the Interior.  Today’s Mailbox Monday (and for the month of October) will be hosted by Savvy Verse & WitWhat Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey.

MAILBOX MONDAY:

I received no review books this week.

Unable to restrain myself, however, I purchased one from the bargain table at Barnes & Noble and two from Amazon.

1.  Last Light Over Carolina, by Mary Alice Monroe

From the bestselling author of Time Is a River and Swimming Lessons comes a serviceable novel set in present-day coastal South Carolina. The tale follows shrimp boat captain Bud Morrison, and his wife, Carolina, through one eventful day. Despite their ardent love for one another, and how wildly passionate their love affair began, after 33 years of marriage, imprudence, distrust, financial strain and poor communication have clouded their relationship. When Bud’s deckhand is a no-show for work, Bud decides to take his boat out alone, despite a fast approaching storm. After he’s injured in a boating accident, he begins to reflect on his life and love. Meanwhile, Carolina has had a premonition and spends her day reminiscing about her marriage and analyzing the missteps. Although the story is a frank and easy to relate to look at a long-term marriage, some maudlin passages and uninspired thematic work can make it feel borrowed from a Lifetime movie.

2.  Rebecca, by Daphne Du Maurier (a reread!)

Rebecca is a novel of mystery and passion, a dark psychological tale of secrets and betrayal, dead loves and an estate called Manderley that is as much a presence as the humans who inhabit it: “when the leaves rustle, they sound very much like the stealthy movement of a woman in evening dress, and when they shiver suddenly and fall, and scatter away along the ground, they might be the pitter, patter of a woman’s hurrying footsteps, and the mark in the gravel the imprint of a high-heeled satin shoe.” Manderley is filled with memories of the elegant and flamboyant Rebecca, the first Mrs. DeWinter; with the obsessive love of her housekeeper, Mrs. Danvers, who observes the young, timid second Mrs. DeWinter with sullen hostility; and with the oppressive silences of a secretive husband, Maxim. Rebecca may be physically dead, but she is a force to contend with, and the housekeeper’s evil matches that of her former mistress as a purveyor of the emotional horror thrust on the innocent Mrs. DeWinter. The tension builds as the new Mrs. DeWinter slowly grows and asserts herself, surviving the wicked deceptions of Mrs. Danvers and the silent deceits of her husband, to emerge triumphant in the midst of a surprise ending that leaves the reader with a sense of haunting justice.

3.  Jamaica Inn, by Daphne Du Maurier

Jamaica Inn is a true classic. After the death of her mother, Mary Yellan travels to Jamaica Inn on the wild British moors to live with her Aunt Patience. The coachman warns her of the strange happenings there, but Mary is committed to remain at Jamaica Inn. Suddenly, her life is in the hands of strangers: her uncle, Joss Merlyn, whose crude ways repel her; Aunt Patience, who seems mentally unstable and perpetually frightened; and the enigmatic Francis Davey. But most importantly, Mary meets Jem Merlyn, Joss’s younger brother, whose kisses make her heart race. Caught up in the danger at this inn of evil repute, Mary must survive murder, mystery, storms, and smugglers before she can build a life with Jem.

***

WHAT ARE YOU READING?

This past week has been full of blogging and reading.

Some of  My Blog Happenings:

Tuesday Potpourri – Mourning Soap Deaths

Thoughts From the Interior – Hump Day

Thursday Potpourri – The Never-Ending Search for Bookshelves

Plumbing the Interiors

Monthly Reading Wrap-Up

(Review) Cat’s Eye, by Margaret Atwood

(Review) Hot Property, by Michele, Samantha & Sabrina Kleier

(Review) The Most Dangerous Thing, by Laura Lippman

***

What’s Up Next?

1.  Still Reading To the Lighthouse, by Virginia Woolf (not loving it so far!)

2.  Girls in White Dresses, by Jennifer Close

3.  Watch Me Die, by Erica Spindler

4.  Buried Memories, by Irene Pence (from my TBR Stacks!)

***

And that’s it for this week!  I wonder what exciting books the rest of you have chosen (and read)?  I hope you’ll stop by and share.

58 thoughts on “MONDAY FROM THE INTERIOR: MAILBOX MONDAY & WHAT ARE YOU READING? — OCT. 3

  1. To the Lighthouse is on my Brit Lit II list for next semester – really not looking forward to it.

    I love Rebecca as well – I picked up three more books by Daphne du Maurier at my school’s library sale this week for .50 apiece! I was thrilled.

    Like

    • I know…I tried to read Mrs. Dalloway, and then I thought this one might be good, since others have raved about it. But so far…not really liking it.

      Thanks for stopping by, Lydia…and I know I’m going to love Rebecca, since I did the first time I read it. I think the one I didn’t get yet was Frenchman’s Creek, which I loved, too.

      Like

    • Oh, I know I won’t get to it this month! I have a nice little stack of rereads that I’ve recently purchased, and think I’m going to have to set aside a couple of weeks for them, since one is a real chunkster (Gone with the Wind).

      Thanks for stopping by, Beth.

      Like

  2. It looks like you have a nice selection of books to chose from this week. Enjoy your reading this week.

    I am reading a fun little cozy mystery this week, “Quickstep to Murder” by Ella Barrick.

    Like

  3. You’ve got quite a Daphne du Maurier love-in awaiting you there! Rebecca is the only one I’ve read of hers so far, but I’m going to get to My Cousin Rachel soon as that looks great too. Hope you enjoy them 🙂

    Like

    • I’m excited about it, Sophia. Frenchman’s Creek and My Cousin Rachel were books I read back in the day, too.

      I think My Cousin Rachel was made into a movie starring Joanne Woodward (in the sixties).

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  4. Rebecca is one of my all time favorites. Glad to see that you have another of Daphne Du Maurier’s along with it, though nothing compares to Rebecca in my opinion. Have a great time reading!

    Like

  5. Rebecca is one of those books I’ve always wanted to read and just never got around to it. I just finished The Lantern which is said to be influenced by Rebecca so I’ll have to read it and find out for myself.

    Like

    • Oh, that’s wonderful, Diana. I love having old copies of books that were handed down. I have a couple of old books that my mother received in 1921….not books that are around anymore, but still treasured.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

