A JOURNEY INTO THE DEPTHS — A CREATIVE EXPLORATION

Photograph by Craig Robinson, Berlin Photographer

THE BEAUTY IN RUINS

Sometimes when we embark on a creative exploration, we find unexpected things. Treasures, maybe; but the possibility always exists that we will stumble upon something dark and even frightening.

Interior journeys are like that, even when they’re not creative ones.  Reflecting on our thoughts; plumbing the depths of memory; and taking those reflections and thoughts to the story we are creating, or even the life we are living, can yield unique gifts for potential readers.

Sharing our true selves on the written page will shine through and strike a chord with someone out there.  If we remain on the superficial plane, without delving deep into the core of our being, that will show, too.

Like the image above (in the post) and on the header, sometimes our journeys will lead us to decadent places; however, there is also a beauty in the ruins. The past, even if it feels dark and forbidding, can tell us how to overcome our obstacles in the here and now.

What unexpected treasures have you discovered lately?

8 thoughts on “A JOURNEY INTO THE DEPTHS — A CREATIVE EXPLORATION

  1. Hi! As a lover of old houses, these pictures are today’s unexpected treasures for me, and truly inspirational. I don’t look at that house as being in ruins at all. Instead I see visions of the people who might have lived there, and my mind is conjuring up all sorts of situations that might have taken place there.

    The sharp angles of the staircase connecting three floors, the French doors, the half-circle and transom windows above the doors, the stripped surfaces of the steps and walls–those are just some of the details contributing to the story being seeded in my head. And I’m absolutely craving the floorplan of that house, although I’m already making one up in lieu of the real thing.

    There is nothing dark and forbidding about that house to me because what I see are pictures of what the place used to look like and what it can (and will) look like again. Sort of a metaphor for getting through bumpy parts of life, I guess.

    Thanks so much for posting this! The images have now been permanently deposited in the “for future reference” file in my novelist’s very strange brain.

    Hope you’re having a terrific week (one that’s not in the snow like we are here on the U.S. eastern seaboard). All the best. –Cheri

    Like

    1. Thanks, Cherilaser…Your comments mirror my own thoughts; that even though some may find these images dark, others see the potential beauty. That’s how my photographer son saw this old abandoned sanitarium in a village near Berlin.

      I love his ability to capture these kinds of objects in the world around him, and I love sharing them and using them as metaphors.

      Like

  2. Lovely sentiment, Laurel-Rain. A wonderful affirmation to pursue things beyond the comfortable superficiality so prevalent in our world and endeavor to share and encourage looking deeper – into self and the world.

    I don’t know what treasures I’ve discovered lately, but I will say that every time my sense of purpose waivers a new strength and commitment comes from somewhere encouraging me to continue.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by and sharing, Kimberly. I do love exploring the world around me in its visual representations; capturing them photographically is my son’s talent. I enjoy using the photos to illustrate my thoughts.

      Like

    1. Oh, I’m happy to know that! Every time I’ve tried to learn the code to create links, it has never worked…but then, today, I copied and pasted someone else’s HTML and then inserted my URL…So now I’m keeping a little cheat sheet.

      I still don’t understand why the Name/URL thing didn’t work…maybe when comments have to be approved, it loses something…

      Like

  3. Pingback: THE SUNDAY SALON — JAN. 30 | ACCIDENTAL MOMENTS

  4. Pingback: MONDAY MEMES: MAILBOX MONDAY & WHAT ARE YOU READING? — JAN. 31 « AN INTERIOR JOURNEY

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.