MUSING MONDAYS — JAN. 24

 

Welcome to Musing Mondays, hosted by Should Be Reading.  In this event, we share our responses to specific questions about books and reading.

Today’s Question:

Is there a book you absolutely love, but for some reason, people never think it sounds interesting, or maybe they read it and don’t like it at all?

Like our hostess has pointed out, it’s more of a type of book that I love that doesn’t seem to have a huge following…Books about dysfunctional families, or books about women’s issues.

Sue Miller, Barbara Delinsky, Marge Piercy (loved her books from the seventies, like Small Changes).

These authors do have a following, but probably from some of us who have been around awhile…LOL.

I do enjoy exploring new genres and authors, but I must admit that I am not a fan of paranormal; so I guess it goes both ways.  I enjoy my dysfunction, while others enjoy the adrenaline rush of vampire lore.  To each her own.  That makes the world interesting.

What about the rest of you?  What turns you on to certain books?

 

10 thoughts on “MUSING MONDAYS — JAN. 24

  1. I love Barbara Delinsky, and Kristin Hannah, and Debbie Macomber, but, I’m sure many out there would think they are boring. I have been trying to read new authors, but they have to be in the genres I like. I don’t go for vampires, wizards, witches and such. I guess I like dysfunctional family books too. ; )

    Like

    • Oh, I enjoy all the authors you mentioned…how could anyone think they’re boring? I guess those who want the adrenaline rush of vampires…LOL. Not for me.

      I get my adrenaline from mysteries. Thanks for stopping by, Gigi Ann.

      Like

  2. I quite like books about dysfunctional families, athough I tend to read more about individuals with problems than families. I try to spread reading these out though, because they can get pretty intense.

    Like

  3. I love books which give insight into people and, well, sometimes I dig the wolf/vampire thing as well. Still, I never really got into Delinsky’s work – is there one or two in particular you could recommend?

    Like

    • I have enjoyed several of Delinksy’s books, Kimberly, but without knowing your taste, it would be hard to recommend some. However, I especially enjoyed some of her older ones, like A Woman’s Place and An Accidental Woman. I also enjoyed a more recent one, Not My Daughter.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

