WEEKLY UPDATES: A GREAT WEEK…

Good morning! Today’s post will link up to The Sunday Salon and The Sunday Post for weekly updates.

Mailbox Monday is hosted at the home site: Mailbox Monday.

And let’s join Kathryn, our leader in It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?, at Book Date.

***

***

What a great week!  There was New Year’s, of course, although mine was quiet at home with books and movies.  Then there were outings, like shoe shopping and lunch out; and a brunch with a friend.  Plus..I actually read and reviewed three books, including My First Book of the Year, finished on Tuesday.

I watched another episode of the HBO MAX series And Just Like That. And I enjoyed a movie based on the book The Tender Bar, written by J. R. Moehringer.  I read the book in 2012 and really enjoyed it.  The film was also good, and Ben Affleck portrayed a major character.

After such a great week, I am ready for another one.  But first, let’s take a close-up of the past one.

***

Monthly Wrap-Up…End of Year

Tuesday Excerpts:  “State of Terror”

Tuesday Potpourri…Book Love

WWW Reading…

Digging Into My TBR

Coffee Chat:  To Begin Anew…

Bookish Friday:  “My Darling Husband”

Review:  State of Terror, by Hillary Rodham Clinton & Louise Penny – First Book of the Year

cropped again 5

Review:  My Darling Husband, by Kimberly Belle

cropped again 5

Review:  The Summer Deal, by Jill Shalvis

cropped again 5

***

INCOMING BOOKS:

Reckless Girls, by Rachel Hawkins

***

NetGalley ARC:

The Summer Place, by Jennifer Weiner – Release Date: 5/10/22

***

CURRENTLY READING:

Lucy, by Ellen Feldman

***

That was my week!  What did yours look like?  Below, brunch with a friend this week.

***

68 thoughts on “WEEKLY UPDATES: A GREAT WEEK…

  1. Literary Feline

    It sounds like your first week of the new year was a good one, Laurel-Rain. I am glad to hear it! Reckless Girls sounds like a fun read. I look forward to reading it one day. I’ve enjoyed Ellen Feldman’s writing in the past and hope you are enjoying Lucy. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Sophie, I loved my old boots, but they were getting a little shabby. LOL. Unfortunately, with the Pandemic, there wasn’t a lot of shoe shopping. Online shopping does not include shoes for me.

      Enjoy your week!

      Like

  2. Gayathri Lakshminarayanan

    I am glad you had a good week, Laurel. And you got some good books lined up. I am getting back to blogging after a long break, hope it sticks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My, you had a lovely week. Mine was even quieter, as we are staying home and away from Covid. I did get some work done toward the new semester which starts on the 19th for me, and I now have three students working ahead on the semester–just what I love, serious students!
    I hope this next week brings you something fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Trin Carl

    Brunch with a friend sounds great. I have seen a few friends this week doing improv and so glad for social media so I can see what everyone’s up to.

    Like

  5. So glad to see you have had such a convivial week, Laura:)). It’s always a treat to go out with friends – and what a bonus to start the year with a book you thoroughly enjoyed. I hope the coming week is also a great one. And thank you for swinging by!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great to hear you had a nice New Year and week. I hope you’re enjoying your new shoes! 😊 My week was a cold, busy one, as I returned to work and the temps plummeted here! 🥶 Take care and happy reading in the coming week.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a great start to a New Year… so many good things this week! I just found out about Jennifer Weiner’s new book today and entered a goodreads giveaway… lucky you to have an ARC. Will be curious to hear what you think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Anne, I guess I don’t worry too much about eating in public any more, being vaccinated and boosted…and wear masks when I go in. I only go with people also vaccinated.

      But I know I felt anxious the first few times.

      Like

  8. It’s interesting that all the bloggers say The Tender Bar movie is really good but every general review I see when Googling around has nothing good to say about it! I guess I’ll have to decide for myself. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Melinda, if I hadn’t already read the book, I would probably go for the movie. It was well done, and the author of the book was involved in the production.

      I am always glad to read Jennifer Weiner’s books! Enjoy.

      Like

  9. Susan

    It sounds like a great first week of 2022 for you! I plan to watch The Tender Bar …. that’s on Prime right? The brunch looks to have included some mimosas …. way to go. Have a great 2nd week.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. We are so cold in my area that I’ve only been to the grocery store in the past week. I’m hoping for more outings this week. Your brunch pic looked so nice. Enjoy your reading this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Veronica @ The Burgeoning Bookshelf

    Happy New Year. Both your new books this week have gorgeous covers. I can’t go past a really cute cover..I hope the books are as good as the cover art.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.