WEEKLY UPDATES: UPS & DOWNS…

 

Good morning! Today’s post will link up to The Sunday Salon and The Sunday Post for weekly updates.

Mailbox Monday is hosted at the home site: Mailbox Monday.

And let’s join Kathryn, our leader in It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?, at Book Date.

It has been a week of ups and downs, and I only read and reviewed two books.  I did write six blog posts and watched some favorite TV shows.  I also enjoyed a hair trim and had a routine doctor’s visit, which went well.

I loved my Skype visit with my eldest son in Prague…and this weekend, my second son will visit from LA.  We’ll luxuriate in a lunch together.

Now let’s take a closer look at my week.

img_5809

Tuesday Excerpts:  “Find You First”

Tuesday Potpourri:  Books and More Books…

WWW Post..

Another Forgotten Book…

Coffee Chat: Routines Are More Normal…

Bookish Friday:  “The Break-Up Book Club”

Review:  When the Stars Go Dark, by Paula McLain

ratings worms 4-cropped

Review:  Every Last Fear, by Alex Finlay

ratings worms 3-cropped

***

INCOMING BOOKS: I downloaded two e-books

The Break-Up Book Club, by Wendy Wax

Local Woman Missing, by Mary Kubica

I received one book in my physical mailbox:

Brat: An 80s Story, by Andrew McCarthy

***

CURRENTLY READING:

Find You First, by Linwood Barclay

***

That was my week.  What did yours look like?  Today I am sharing a favorite doll and book from the past.

***

62 thoughts on “WEEKLY UPDATES: UPS & DOWNS…

    1. Thanks, Shelleyrae, and even though I was no longer a teen during the Brat Pack era, I enjoyed watching him and the others with my own teens, lol.

      I also loved Andrew McCarthy in a series called Lipstick Jungle, when he portrayed a handsome rich man who treated his girlfriend like a princess…

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Kimberly, I had so much fun Saturday with my son, and I realized afterwards that this was the first time in ages that we had alone time to chatter and laugh and share things, without anyone else “competing” for his attention!

      Also, the first time in ages we got to hug! (Both vaccinated).

      Like

  1. Ooh have an awesome lunch! And glad your call with your son last weekend went well. It’s nice being able to get out again a bit, isn’t it, even if it feels a little weird at times haha? Hope your weekend is great! :):)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Greg, not only were the food (and margaritas) delicious, but we had some very special sharing time, just us, nobody else competing for his attention (or mine).

      I hope for more of the same. Have a great week!

      Like

  2. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your Skype catch-up with your eldest son in Prague and I hope you will enjoy your luxuriant lunch out with your second son this coming week! 🤞 Take care and happy reading in the coming week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read less last week, and it was because I was more social. I bet you are looking forward to your visit with your son. We are eagerly anticipating seeing my Chicago son in upcoming months. I have not hugged him in almost two years now!

    I like the look of the Break-Up Book Club. I will look for it.

    Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Susan

    I hope you have a fun lunch with your son. It’s nice to get out. Our restaurants are closed here … but someday! So glad you liked the Paula McLain novel …. that helps me decide to pick it up. Enjoy your week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Susan, I wasn’t sure I was ready to go out when I first started going, but as I slowly reenter restaurants, and notice that they are not overly crowded, I feel more relaxed. I had a great lunch with my son, and we had a good time catching up.

      Enjoy your week and your books. I hope you like the Paula McLain book.

      Like

  5. Local Woman Missing sounds good! It’s been a while since I’ve read something by Mary Kubica, but this one intrigues me.
    Hope your next week has more ups and less downs 🙂 Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Juli @ A Universe in Words

    A slow week for you would be a majorly productive week for me, so you’re doing great xD I really want to read ‘Local Woman Missing’ as well, the cover grabbed me straight away! I hope you have a lovely start to the week and do drop by my Mailbox if you have the time! – Juli @ A Universe in Words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, the lunch and visit were great, Erin; it had been too long since we last actually saw each other without masks! (Both vaccinated).

      Until recently, I had read all of Joanne DeMaio’s books, but I have missed a few of the later ones. Must catch up!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: The Aesthete Blogger Award

  8. I am so glad that you were able to chat with your son and have a visit plan with your other son. It sounds like you had a great week. I really enjoyed Andrew McCarthy’s book and hope you do as well. I hope that you enjoy all of your new books and have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Cheryl Malandrinos

    Hope your week improved. You have a lot of great books on your list. I want to read Wax’s novel.

    Thanks for sharing and for visiting my blog last Monday.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.