FROM THE INTERIOR: BOOK BEGINNINGS/FRIDAY 56 – “NEVER TELL A LIE”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAfriday 56 - spring and summer logo

Welcome to some bookish fun today as we share Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and as we showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

If you have been wanting to participate, but haven’t yet tried, now is the time!

What better way to spend a Friday?

Today I am featuring a book from Hallie Ephron:  Never Tell a Lie.

 

 

91xPswU9gnL._SL1500_

 

 

Beginning:  Tuesday, Nov 4

Pregnant Woman Missing from Brush Hills

BRUSH HILLS, MA Police continue to search for clues in the disappearance of Melinda White, 33, who was last seen on Saturday.  Authorities yesterday issued a bulletin describing the pregnant woman as “at risk” and a possible victim of foul play.

***

56:  “Her sister reported her missing, and we located her car.  It was parked down the block.  There was a copy of the Weekly Shopper on the front seat, with your yard-sale ad circled.”

***

Blurb:   “[A] richly atmospheric tale. You can imagine Hitchcock curling up with this one.”
USA Today

Author Hallie Ephron’s fast paced and disturbingly creepy Never Tell a Lie is a page-turning thrill ride that maestro Alfred Hitchcock would have been proud to call his own. A descent into gripping suburban terror, this stunner by the Ellen Nehr Award-winning mystery reviewer for the Boston Globe has been called “a snaky, unsettling tale of psychological suspense” by the Seattle Times. Fans of Mary Higgins Clark, Harlan Coben, and classic gothic mystery will adore this supremely suspenseful and consistently surprising story of a yard sale gone terribly wrong.

***

I have read and LOVED two books by this author now…so I can’t wait to get into this one.  What do you think?

***

REVIEW: ELIZABETH IS MISSING, BY EMMA HEALEY

18635113What happens when an aging woman begins to lose her memory, bits and pieces at a time? When the past and the present seemingly come together until her identity slowly dissolves?

Set in England, Elizabeth Is Missing is that story, and as it unfolds in the first person narrative of Maud, the aging mother and grandmother, we are soon catapulted into her interior world, almost as if the losses are ours.

Most poignant of all is the terror and fear that Maud feels when she begins obsessively searching for her friend Elizabeth whom she is certain has been taken or spirited away. Perhaps by her son. The feelings are enhanced by intermittent memories of a time in her younger years when her sister Sukey went missing. That mystery haunts her, and as she reminisces, it is almost as if that loss is entangled with the present losses: of her best friend Elizabeth; her own independence; the memories that elude her; and the feelings of invisibility.

Why does Maud feel compelled to dig in the garden? Why does she gather odds and ends into secret containers? Is there a very real connection between the past and the present that could explain these mysterious events?

I totally empathized with Maud, especially since everyone in her life seemed to ignore her feelings and treat her like someone who no longer mattered. I felt her frustration, and even anger at her dismissive daughter Helen. Yes, I am sure Helen’s feelings and impatient behavior were mitigated by the burden of being a caretaker, and that they might also be based on her worries and fears for her mother’s safety.

So imagine our surprise to find out that some of Maud’s behavior might have a strong basis in fact, and are not just the ranting of a paranoid and obsessive old woman.

Every page I turned brought to light new pieces of the tragic events in Maud’s past and present life and her losses, and I could not wait to find out more. An unforgettable voyage that reminds us of the importance of empathy and understanding. Five stars.