WHEN OBJECTS FIND NEW HOMES: RE-PURPOSING FURNISHINGS…

How far I have come since I started blogging!  Over at Curl up and Read, where my About page features the TBR Stacks I had back then, take note of a redwood cart (barely visible) that then housed (almost) my more than 160 unread books.

 

Once I bought some more actual shelves, I found other uses for the cart, since I love to re-purpose my furniture.  The cart was actually intended as a barbecue cart, but I found other uses.  Like a shelf in my office, below:

***

Soon I rearrranged my office and, as a result, found another purpose for the cart:

***

On to other pieces.  A small shelf that found a home in various places beginning with my house in the foothills, see below, where it is topped with collectibles and holding magazines in a cubby:

***

Now it resides in my office, next to my desk, holding notebooks and a basket; a little worse for wear, but finding its new purpose:

***

This week I read a book that touted the wonders of re-purposing, and while the book offered much more impressive examples, I couldn’t help but feel a connection to what the authors of Open House were offering. (Click title for my review).

***

Do you enjoy re-purposing furnishings?  What draws you to some pieces over others?

***

4 thoughts on “WHEN OBJECTS FIND NEW HOMES: RE-PURPOSING FURNISHINGS…

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

