THOUGHTS ON A THURSDAY….

Good morning!  Let’s have a little chat over coffee.  Today I brought one of my favorite Mary Engelbreit mugs, which reads:  Just for Today, Be Happy.  My motto for today.  Join up with Christine, at Bookishly Boisterous, to see what others are chatting about.

  • Sometimes the simplest things can make me happy.  Like going to a sale at a favorite shop and loading up on cute PJs.  Yes, I love lounging around in them, and my “old” ones were getting a little faded and ratty…sigh.  Now I have several, with big Tees on top that say things like “No Coffee, No Talkie” and “Dear Coffee, Thanks a Latte.”
  • After curbing my book buying impulses a little in May, June, and July, I went nuts in August and bought 17 books!
  • I am making progress whittling away at my stacks, and have currently finished 79 purchased books this year.  Some of them were bought in the last half of 2016…but still, purchased books moving off the TBR.
  • Some might say STOP BUYING SO MANY.  That will be something to work on…later.
  • The book buying, the PJ buying, the focus on BEING HAPPY…all of it is to distract me from the horrible things going on in the world around us.  If I can’t change it, or control it, I can try to focus on other things.  Like creating new blog headers.  I took a shot of my new one over at Serendipity.
  • So far this week, I’ve read two books:  The Truth We Bury, by Barbara Taylor Sissel, and Lies She Told, by Cate Holahan, a riveting NetGalley review book coming out next Tuesday. (Click titles for my reviews).
  • Now I’m back to reading Z:  A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, which is moving along slowly, since I keep stopping to move on over to other books.  Having more than one going at a time is not my favorite way to read…but I’m doing it mostly when I have print books to read, but prefer to take my e-books when I go out.
  • Sometimes I think I should stop reading ARCS, as even though I love them, the deadlines add pressure…and I start to visualize myself back at the job.  LOL.
  • Nevertheless, I ordered a new Vine review book, coming later this week.  The deadlines are more fluid there.  Happy People Read and Drink Coffee sounds like fun to me.

So…that’s my week so far.  Come on by, and let’s chat!

***

13 thoughts on “THOUGHTS ON A THURSDAY….

  1. Really interesting books! I did not realize that you bought so many books! I guess it’s hard to curb your enthusiasm…heeheehee. I just checked out my sleep shirts last week and decided I needed new ones. I tend to sleep in yoga shorts and sleep shirts. My old faves come from Victoria Secret…their standard soft cotton sleep shirt. I lucked into a sale 2 for $40 so I stocked up. In winter I wear their long sleeved ones…the summer ones were roomy and short sleeved. There is just something fun about new sleep stuff!

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Patty, and I completely agree about sleep shirts. They do make me feel luxurious…even though they are not silk or satin. LOL.

      I’ve never bought so many all at once, but the sale…well, how could I resist? Plus there was a guy selling that day, and he was good at it!

      I did go crazy on the book buying…but I am happy that I no longer download a ton of freebies, which, though they don’t cost anything, clutter up my Pippa with books I seldom read. I love that “curb your enthusiasm” reference.

      Enjoy your sleep shirts and your week!

      Like

  2. I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald. I recently added it to my “to-read” list. I know what you mean about pjs – I had on my “All you need is love & coffee (and coffee)” sleep shirt this morning!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love slouchy pj’s and cant ever bring myself to throw old ones away until they are literally falling apart. This time of year here is a perfect time to dig them out with the weather turning.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Persist with the Zelda book – I remember really enjoying it (although it does get a bit dark toward the end).

    I rarely meet the deadline on ARCs (I do review them but not always when publishers want) – nevertheless, they keep sending them so I figure, stop stressing, read them when you want (because we’re not paid for this!).

    Liked by 1 person

    • The more I get into Z, the better I like it. I don’t think the dark parts will bother me, as I’ve read other books that explored Zelda’s darkness.

      I like your attitude about the ARCs…it’s not as if a teacher (or a boss) will rap our knuckles for missing a deadline. But old habits die hard.

      My best way to cope is to balance the review books throughout each month, with no more than one or two to review. It doesn’t always work out, though. Sometimes I just have to have a specific book, no matter what my schedule looks like.

      Thanks for stopping by, Kate, and enjoy your weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I am still finding the ARC balance. I am trying to get to them before the publish date. Sometimes it’s easier than others. Though I did send one back stating I wouldn’t be reviewing it a couple weeks ago. (I was not enjoying it. I don’t get paid for this, so *shrug*)

    I hear you on the horrible things going on in this world right now. *ugh*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for visiting, Shannon, and in order to avoid getting a book I can’t finish, I try to only request books whose authors I’ve read and loved…or books I’ve heard good things about.

      As for the state of the world, I wish that we could flash back to early 2016 and do everything differently, but I suspect that the same people would vote for the same person. Sigh.

      Enjoy your weekend!

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

