COFFEE CHAT: JURY DUTY, BIRTHDAYS, ETC.

Good morning!  Time to chat over coffee, and link to Bookishly Boisterous for Bookish/Not So Bookish Thoughts.

  • I wasn’t going to write a post today, as, after a week of calling in at night, I have been directed to report in for Jury Duty this morning at 8:30.  This means changing up everything about my morning routines.  I hate the drive downtown, and finding the Jury Parking.  I haven’t done this since the 1980s!  Up until now, I’ve managed to be “on call” only.
  • But…I couldn’t sleep until my alarm went off, so I thought I should try writing down a few thoughts while I eat breakfast.
  • Last night I watched Part I of The Story of Diana.  Mostly it was a repeat of a lot of the other shows I’ve seen lately.
  • Because I was setting the alarm and planning to rise early, I didn’t get a chance to watch Younger and The Sinner.  They are waiting on the DVR.
  • I finished watching Season I of Ozark…and resumed watching The Ranch.
  • On the weekend, I watched a movie on Amazon Prime that I had seen at the theater…and enjoyed it because it starred Debra Winger.  It was The Lovers.
  • Reading two books:  Before We Were Yours, by Lisa Wingate, which is pretty good so far; and America’s Queen, by Sarah Bradford, which I will read in bits and pieces, as it has 444 pages…which isn’t that bad, except that the type is very tiny, making the pages long and sometimes tedious.  I found myself skipping over parts I’ve read in other books.
  • On Tuesday, I enjoyed a pre-birthday lunch with my daughter and her son Noah; we had a very adult-like lunch, with no barbs thrown or any sneaky mentions of the Elephant in the Room (Trump).  Probably because Noah was there.

  • On Sunday, her actual birthday, there will be a group brunch at a local restaurant, which I’ve never visited, but is close by:

  • She was born on Friday the 13th, in 1976, after 36 hours of labor…and finally, a C-Section!
  • I’m looking forward to seeing The Glass Castle this weekend!

***

That’s it for today.  Come on by and share your own Bookish/Not So Bookish Thoughts.

***

14 thoughts on “COFFEE CHAT: JURY DUTY, BIRTHDAYS, ETC.

  1. I’ve done jury duty 3 times and probably due to be called again soon. I hope it’s a good experience for you. I hate the logistics of getting there but would be tempted to finally give Uber or Lyft a try – I’m probably the only person in my family who hasn’t used either service yet.

    Happy Birthday to your daughter! Bottomless mimosas would be hard to resist 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mary, I’ve only actually served on a jury once, and the rest of the time I did the on-call thing, which was always tense while waiting to see what would happen.

      This week, I thought I was going to have to serve again, as we were waiting in the Jury Room until noon. Then half of us were excused, while the others had to serve. Yay!

      I am now looking forward to those bottomless mimosas,.

      Like

    • Thanks, Patty, and as you know from my FB page, half of our group (including me) was excused! Dismissed. Done!!

      But it was a tough morning waiting, sitting in those chairs and watching DVDS with instructions, etc., and wondering. They don’t even have a rest room in the Jury Room…had to cross the breezeway to the Courthouse,or the Hall of Records.

      Now I’m done complaining…LOL.

      Like

    • Thanks for visiting, Kathryn; the chairs were very uncomfortable, and we couldn’t just sit and play with our phones or Kindles…the moderator had a DVD playing constantly about the Jury Duty process…and then a history of California’s Central Valley….boring. LOL.

      The worst thing: no rest rooms in the building…we had to schlep across to the Hall of Records…unless we wanted to go in the main Courthouse, with the metal detectors…yikes!

      Very happy to be let go. When I served at an actual trial once, in the 1980s, everything was more relaxed and even a little bit fun. How times have changed!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Emma, you are NOT missing out…Unless you like having some government person control your days…and find yourself under his/her control for a week or more. LOL.

      To be fair, though, I enjoyed three weeks I spent on a jury once…but it was in the 1980s. Everything was so much more relaxed back then.

      Looking forward to the brunch.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never been called for jury duty–fingers crossed it stays that way, lol.

    I’ve never been interested in checking out Younger until I heard some recent developments in the last few episodes + heard this season has been the most watched so far in its entire run so now I’m curious…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for visiting, Lianne, and I wasn’t sure about Younger, but decided to watch an episode or two, and discovered that I really liked the MC played by Sutton Foster, who was pretending to be a 20-something person.

      I like anything about the publishing world, and the stories were fun. Still are. I’m hooked, at this point.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

