COFFEE MORNING: BOOKISH/NOT SO BOOKISH THOUGHTS…

***

Good morning, Blog World!  It’s time to share some of our Bookish/Not So Bookish Thoughts, along with Christine, at Bookishly Boisterous.

As the days slide by, I am making lists and planning the getaway next Friday-Sunday, (March 31-April 2) for my daughter’s wedding.

  • Last night, my second son, who lives in LA, called and we chatted as he drove toward Phoenix, where he will be visiting his youngest son, a college freshman there.  I like these little chats, and he says they make the journey less tedious.
  • He and his eldest son, Alec, who will be on spring break, will be coming to the wedding, so we had logistics to discuss.  They plan to stay Saturday night only.
  • I am one of those people who has to start “getting ready” way too soon, and as a result, I have all the clothes I’m planning to take hanging together in the closet, and the luggage is next to my bed.  I always worry that I will forget something important, like iPhone charger, Kindle charger, etc.  Hence, the lists.
  • When I used to travel more, getting ready to go was on auto pilot.  Not so much these days.
  • Meanwhile, I’m doing some reading this week, and I’m on my third book:  Bridges:  A Daphne White Novel, by Maria Murnane.  I enjoyed her Waverly Bryson series, and I’m loving this one, too.

 

***

  • This week is Bloggiesta, and I’ve been having fun updating my various blogs, fixating mostly on my Rainy Days and Mondays site
  • A few days ago, my coffee pot died…so I went off to buy another, bemoaning the fact that they don’t seem to last very long.  Perhaps because I keep buying Mr. Coffee…and should be trying something…better?  But I took the easy route, and hauled another Mr. Coffee home.

 

  • I’m getting a lot of use out of my new blender (which I bought to replace the one my daughter borrowed…ten years ago?).  Smoothies, etc.

 

  • Every night this week, I’ve been binge-watching Scandal, on Netflix.  I never watched the show on TV…and I started it here when I couldn’t find anything else on Netflix that grabbed me.  Some episodes were boring, but now in the third season, I’m hooked.
  • I do want new seasons to come along for old favorites, though…but in the meantime, I’m good with this one.

***

That’s my week so far….come on over and let’s chat.

***

14 thoughts on “COFFEE MORNING: BOOKISH/NOT SO BOOKISH THOUGHTS…

  1. I love that kind of chatting, too. You must be so excited about the wedding! Everyone will be together. Who knows if more expensive coffee pots last longer…it could just be a myth!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping by, Patty, and I like the idea that the more expensive coffee pots being better might be a myth. I used to buy expensive watches based on that belief, and they all quit working eventually, too.

      Chatting with my second son is always fun…we both love movies, and he works in the industry, so it’s great to share our thoughts. Usually his first question to me is “what great movies have you seen lately?”

      Like

  2. I have a good friend who calls when she’s on the road so I get why it makes the trip less tedious. Hard to believe the wedding date is so close. Sounds like you’ll be ready to go!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mary, and I think I am pretty ready. I’ll be driving down with Heather and David, in my car, so I have to spiff it up beforehand. My car never really looks dirty (it’s silver), so it goes a really long time between car washes, which is kind of embarrassing.

      I am excited about the trip, and happy that I don’t have to drive down alone. We’ve booked hotel rooms in the same place, where the event will also be held.

      Like

  3. I am like that too. I always have everything ready either in the closet in a group or actually in the suitcase along with NOTES to not forget chargers, etc.

    I usually am ready a week or more ahead of time. 🙂

    Have a wonderful trip and time at the wedding.

    Elizabeth

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mr. Coffee is ok, I had one that lasted quite a while. I’ve moved on to Keurig now as I’m the only coffee drinker and only drink two cups a day. I use refillable pods though. I can’t stand throwaway waste that is not recyclable.

    I make lists and pack the night before. My husband is like you — everything ready a week before. He drives me crazy!

    I’m on season 5 of Scandal now. I thought it really picked up in the third season too. I don’t have enough TV time to keep up with all the shows I want to watch.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it is hard to keep up with everything on TV and on Netflix. I just discovered there is a new season now for Grace and Frankie, which I love, too.

      I hope that my “bad” Mr. Coffee machine was a fluke.

      I’ve been pondering Keurig…

      I just went out and bought a couple more things for the trip…a new sweater, since it’s the beach, after all, and might be cold. And I’ve done the laundry for more things I plan to take. I think I’m glad I don’t travel very often…it’s exhausting.

      I stayed up until almost midnight watching Scandal last night!

      Thanks for stopping by, Leslie.

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

