MUSINGS ON A “COFFEE MORNING”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Welcome to my Interior World.  Today is one of those “Coffee Mornings,” the kind with a little blogging, some blog visiting, and lots of coffee.

I’ve gone through a whole pot so far…and I’m trying to decide if I should stay here on my laptop…or pick up the book I’m reading.

Yesterday was my birthday, and I did nothing all day long!  I had celebrated with my daughter at a brunch on Sunday…and I was tempted to go to Marie Callender’s and use the “birthday coupon” they sent me.

But….I couldn’t seem to move.

By the end of the day, I had made a decision by not making any kind of choice.  Except staying put on the couch, or in front of the laptop, or in my bedroom.

 

 

June 3 bedroom changes - 1

I started watching a DVD that came in the mail on Monday.  I am not sure what made me think of this 1970 movie…Probably it was seeing the female actor playing in another role.  She is not well-known these days, but I remembered loving her and Richard Benjamin in this film, which I first saw in…wait for it!  1970, of course.

Diary of a Mad Housewife stars Carrie Snodgress, as well as Richard Benjamin.  (I also read the book, Diary of a Mad Housewife, by Sue Kaufman.  Also in 1970-ish).

 

 

movie-diary-of-a-mad-housewife

I can’t say that I was disappointed by the movie, since it really took me back to that era and the expectations placed upon housewives then.  But the husband (Benjamin) was verbally abusive and I wanted to throw things at him.  Did I feel that way back then?  I’m sure that I must have…as I abandoned my own role and started a new life, following a divorce.

A long journey has led me from that place.  I’ve had a long career, have now started my free-lance life, with blogging and six novels published (check my website).  My children are grown, and so are most of my grandchildren!

In retrospect, I’m sure that I can conclude that the events for me back then…might have happened in a completely different lifetime.

I have a saying:  “I feel like I’ve lived numerous lives…and you can explore my incarnations through my works.

***

In the present, I am reading…a lot.  I finished Commonwealth, by Ann Patchett, and loved it (click for my review).  I am currently reading a book that has been on my stacks for a little while…since June.  Confess, by Colleen Hoover, a novel about risking everything for love—and finding your heart somewhere between the truth and lies.

 

 

22609310

***

 

Here is a glimpse of me back in 1972…after I had changed course and started moving in another direction.

 

rain-in-1971***

So…it is safe to say that my birthday has been a time of musing for me.  Pondering the past…and savoring the present.

Where do your thoughts take you on a Coffee Morning?

***

12 thoughts on “MUSINGS ON A “COFFEE MORNING”

    • Thanks, Nise, without the more hectic life of career and raising kids, I wouldn’t have deserved to have this relaxing time…lol.

      I just finished Confess, and I enjoyed it. I really had an emotional reaction to some of the characters and events. Definitely unforgettable.

      Like

  1. A belated happy birthday and may there be many more. Love the pic of you back in the ’70’s, you had an eye for colour that’s for sure. I wonder what you will think of the Colleen Hoover book that you are reading now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Kathryn, and when I see the 70s styles, from clothes to homes, I shake my head. But we loved it back then. Those red crates by the bed were from the Carnation (Dairy) company that my then-husband’s father owned. We stacked them and used them for shelves.

      I enjoyed Confess…and there was certainly a lot of tension for a while, as the story came to a conclusion.

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

