MY INTERIOR WORLD: VINTAGE & QUIRKY TIDBITS

books for reread

Today I’ve been busily visiting blogs, and noticing that rereads of old favorites are showing up more and more.

The books pictured above are old childhood favorites I plan to reread at some point:  Anne of Green Gables; Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass (I already reread this one a few years ago); and the first three books in the Nancy Drew seriesThe Hidden Staircase, The Bungalow Mystery, and The Secret of the Old Clock.

While I was exploring the past, I had to capture this photo of more rereads that are waiting for me:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jamaica Inn, by Daphne DuMaurier; The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck; Rebecca, by Daphne DuMaurier; Uncle Tom’s Cabin, by Harriet Beecher Stowe; Memoirs of an Ex-Prom Queen, by Alix Kates Shulman; Gone with the Wind, by Margaret Mitchell; Sleeping with the Enemy, by Nancy Price; and Little Women, by Louisa May Alcott.

Some are obviously more recent than the older vintage classics: Sleeping with the Enemy and Memoirs of an Ex-Prom Queen.

Most I read in high school or early college, but others were childhood books.  My mother had an old battered copy of Uncle Tom’s Cabin that she kept on a high shelf in the kitchen.  That location always puzzled me, but obviously she didn’t want us to grab it without permission.

I wish I had copies of my own that I had brought with me from childhood, but thinking back, most of the books I read were borrowed from the library.

The Nancy Drew books were also borrowed.  I had a school friend who showed me her secret stash with almost every copy of the books in the series.  A treasure chest!

Since I didn’t have my own copies of most books I loved, my desire was to eventually own my own personal library.  And I’ve achieved that, but I did purge some of my shelves a year or so ago, removing the overflow.  And now I mostly add books to Pippa, my Kindle.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

My August Monthly Wrap-Up revealed some quirky info.  I read and reviewed THIRTEEN books this past month, which on its own seems insignificant.  But THIRTEEN is an important number for our family, since my delightful daughter was born on August 13, 1976...which also happened to be a Friday the Thirteenth.

If we were ever superstitious about that date, we no longer are.  Friday the Thirteenth is now our Lucky Number.

***

What quirky or interesting facts do you find in your bookish world?  What, if any books, are you saving for reread?

Here is my Quirky Doll Named Liberty:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

5 thoughts on “MY INTERIOR WORLD: VINTAGE & QUIRKY TIDBITS

  1. I always want to reread certain books but never seem to find the space. I don’t go back much to childhood books though. I did have a few of my own but I was the oldest and when I left home others in the family made claim! Heidi books were very much in favour and one of my sisters took my copies and had them recovered and still has them.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

