INTERIOR THOUGHTS: A PRECARIOUS BALANCE…

5-Secrets-of-Balance

It is time to assess my progress towards BALANCE!

One aspect of balancing my interior world is all about the books I buy, as well as those I manage to read.

Let’s look at my Compulsive Book Buying Disorder:

 

compulsive-book-buying

***

Here’s what happened so far this year:

Books Purchased in January 2016:  SEVEN!  (Not bad)

How about February?  – SIX!

March:  Uh-oh….TWELVE!

April:  TEN…So far.

***

Now let’s check my progress on the Read the Books You Buy Challenge:

Twenty-eight books read so far in 2016.  These are books that were purchased between June 2015 to the Present.

***

Now…this is all great, but what does it have to do with balance?   Let’s look at books that I’ve read from my Old TBRs…before June 2015.

Those numbers were harder to access, but I found them by going back through my written logs from the beginning of the year, and here they are:

TWENTY-TWO books read that were purchased before June 2015.  So…a little progress.

***

Balancing books read, books purchased, etc., is all good.  But I still have a ways to go to balance out the rest of my life.

My A Day in the Life post showed a somewhat balanced day.  I’m thinking I should do a similar post once a month.  What do you think?

Do you easily balance your days, your weeks, and your months?  How do you do it?

***

 

 

balance

 

***

8 thoughts on “INTERIOR THOUGHTS: A PRECARIOUS BALANCE…

    • Thanks, Patty….I get a little worried, though, as most are e-books…and another charger died this weekend! What’s up with that? A new one is arriving today.

      Does your Kindle EAT chargers?

      Like

  1. You are a minamalist compared to me! And reading the books you have? You’re doing pretty good there. I wish I had your restraint! On the chargers, what’s up with that? I have the same problem. My mother and I complain about it to each other all the time, lol. Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Heather…I used to have lots more books, and then started purging, followed by a concerted effort to buy less. But it takes time.

      I can’t believe how the chargers give out so soon! Yes, I do have to charge a lot, because I’m constantly reading on my Kindle. So I guess I need to buy more than one at a time!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think you are doing great with the books you buy and then read. Far better than me. Hope to catch up later in the year as have gotten too unbalanced with review books for the first quarter! I don’t worry too much about balance, I just take what happens whenever. When I retired I thought I would get too isolated, but so far I have not felt so which is good. I love lots of alone time so that works! Now that I am learning to sew I spend more time there, and I am afraid inside and outside doesn’t get too much of a look at. I just think if I am happy then its okay. If I notice I am unhappy then I will need to ask myself what’s unbalanced! At least that’s the theory!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Kathryn, and I like your thoughts on balance. I tend to overthink these things when I’m focused on assessing whether or not I’m “balanced.”

      I do love my alone time, also, so I don’t feel the need to change it. I know some would find my tendency to stay indoors with my books, blogging, and movies as being a hermit. Some friends have actually said that. But if we’re happy doing what we’re doing, I think that’s a good thing.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

