INTERIOR THOUGHTS: MUSING ABOUT BOOKS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGood morning!  Here I am in my little office nook (above), musing about books and life.  Join me at Jenn’s Books and a Beat site…and share your own musings.  Here are some thoughts to ponder:

 

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Name a book everyone should read at least once.

***

Soon I will get my hands on a book that I’ve been obsessing about…guess what?  It’s called The Obsession, by Nora Roberts, and it will be released tomorrow!  Do you think I can wait ONE MORE DAY?  LOL

 

 

61JLu-D4IML._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Here’s the blurb:  “She stood in the deep, dark woods, breath shallow and cold prickling over her skin despite the hot, heavy air. She took a step back, then two, as the urge to run fell over her.”

Naomi Bowes lost her innocence the night she followed her father into the woods. In freeing the girl trapped in the root cellar, Naomi revealed the horrible extent of her father’s crimes and made him infamous. No matter how close she gets to happiness, she can’t outrun the sins of Thomas David Bowes.

Now a successful photographer living under the name Naomi Carson, she has found a place that calls to her, a rambling old house in need of repair, thousands of miles away from everything she’s ever known. Naomi wants to embrace the solitude, but the kindly residents of Sunrise Cove keep forcing her to open up—especially the determined Xander Keaton.

Naomi can feel her defenses failing, and knows that the connection her new life offers is something she’s always secretly craved. But the sins of her father can become an obsession, and, as she’s learned time and again, her past is never more than a nightmare away.

***

One thing I know for sure….(to quote an Oprah favorite thought):  This book is one that I won’t allow to languish on Pippa.  I’ll bet that I will start reading it, if not immediately, very soon.  What do you think?

***

As for a book everyone should read at least once?  My thoughts about that change all the time.  When I was young, I would have said Gone with the Wind.  I still recommend it.  A couple of years ago, I bought a copy…to reread.  I still haven’t done that.  But I hope I can manage it.

 

 

087

***

Nowadays, my favorites change with the winds, as I accumulate more and more books and read them quickly.  Back in the day, I read more slowly, savoring my books, as I had to squeeze them in between other things.  That’s probably why I remember those books so fondly from back then.

What are you musing about today?  I hope you’ll stop by and leave a link to your post.

***

8 thoughts on “INTERIOR THOUGHTS: MUSING ABOUT BOOKS

  1. Interesting thoughts… I think I used to take my time w/ books more too. Something about blogging- hurry up and finish so I can write a review and start the next one!! lol. Gone with the Wind does seem like it would be a great pick.

    And I also love the anticipation when a hot book is due on Tuesday and you just can’t wait to go and get it! Enjoy your day. 🙂

    Like

    • That’s it exactly, Greg…the need to move on and “consume” still another book for review…or to try a new author or a book with a lot of buzz.

      I do enjoy those aspects to reading now, but I miss the savoring.

      But I don’t want to give up the accumulation of hot new books! Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy your books.

      Like

  2. I know what you mean…about savoring…for me it’s always about getting on to the next one…I savor for a minute or two at the end!

    Like

    • Yes, there are still “savoring” moments in my books these days, but no rereads, like I once did. I read Gone with the Wind three times, I think, while I was still a teenager. Thanks for stopping by, Patty.

      Like

  3. Thanks for posting your participation for this meme, Laurel Rain –
    I’ve enjoyed your musings, as I too felt that requirement aspect of reading which is why I’ve not been specifically reading for review. I’ve taken time now to savour my reads via the library- which is happy to order requested books – so there’s no problem with being supplied with reading!
    I’ve begun to selectively accept reviews, but keeping it to choice rather than compulsion..

    Glad you participated 😉

    Like

    • Yes, being selective helps keep the review books more manageable for me…and trying to space them out in terms of review dates.

      I need to get back to using the library more, as I also enjoyed requesting books from them as a way of getting the ones I want. Thanks for stopping by, Sharon.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

