INTERIOR THOUGHTS: REMEMBERING NORA….

everything-is-copy-1280

I am a big fan of Nora Ephron.  Her writing, her movies, and her style.  Last night, as I watched the documentary Everything is Copy, I teared up, overcome by sadness, but then I smiled, and even laughed, as the story brought us moments of her life…memorable ones.

When the screen flashed with images and thoughts on her best-selling novel Heartburn (and the subsequent movie, which I also loved), I remembered that I had a hardcover copy of the book…but then I panicked.  Had it gone out with the donations bins?  Oh, no!

I found it…Yay!  And my book is in pristine condition…who knew?

 

heartburn memories

The novel, of course, is a fictionalized version of her second marriage to Carl Bernstein, of the famous Woodward & Bernstein journalistic team from the Washington Post, who exposed the Watergate fiasco, etc.

 

AP WATERGATE DEEP THROAT

What I loved most, in addition to the memories of her books and her movies, was how the story showed us, finally, a really happy marriage to her third husband, Nick Pileggi.  Some believed that the husband of Julia Childs portrayed in the film, Julie & Julia, was inspired by Nora’s husband Nick.

 

julie & julia

***

I loved watching the documentary, and my final thoughts:  who can take up the mantle she left behind?  Who can women find to inspire them like Nora did?

Just the fact that I’m using her first name here is a reminder to me of how much her books, movies, and essays have infiltrated our minds and hearts.  Especially those of us who came up during the 70s, 80s, and beyond.  Those who sought role models in the world of books and movies.

What do you think?  Did she inspire you? 

***

11 thoughts on “INTERIOR THOUGHTS: REMEMBERING NORA….

    • Thanks for visiting, Patty…I could visualize the cover on Heartburn, but didn’t know if I would find it on one of my shelves….so I was happy. LOL

      I still love watching her various movies,, like Heartburn, You’ve Got Mail, Sleepless in Seattle, When Harry Met Sally (I think I’ve memorized the dialogue on that one, LOL).

      Like

  1. I love Nora Ephron and have a signed edition of Heartburn, which is a favorite. I just picked up Wallflower at the Orgy at the used bookstore for $2, but haven’t read it. Also a fan of Neck, lol.

    Like

    • I’m envious of your signed copy! I love my hardcover edition, which is in great shape…so glad I didn’t send it out when I was purging. When I purge, I can be driven. LOL.

      Thanks for stopping by, Heather.

      I loved the Neck book, too…but haven’t yet read Orgy.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I don’t think I have heard of her, although may have come across her work unknowingly. Now I want to watch the documentary. Glad you hadn’t donated the book!

    Like

    • Thanks, Kathryn, and maybe her movies aren’t out wherever you are…I don’t think of that when I’m touting a favorite author. They’re the feel good movies like When Harry Met Sally, Sleepless in Seattle, Julie & Julia, Silkwood, just to mention a few.

      I have so many bookshelves, even after clearing many out…I never know which shelf a specific book will be on…and it was on the last shelf I checked. But of course, it’s always the LAST one we check…LOL.

      Like

    • I loved that one, Mary…I was laughing and smiling all the way through. She had a way of zooming in on the things we all feel anxious or insecure about. Thanks for stopping by, and I’m glad you enjoyed this one. I couldn’t stop thinking about the documentary after I saw it, and the memories of her books and movies.

      Like

  3. Pingback: HUMP DAY POTPOURRI: AN ORDINARY DAY & A WEEK OF CHANGES | POTPOURRI

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

