A NEW JOURNEY FOR AN OLD FAVORITE

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A few months ago—before my summer house guests arrived—this interesting cupboard (above) served as a storage place for books, and a kind of room divider in my office.

But once the house guests arrived, it took up too much room, so it went into my garage, where it then served as a place for book donations…before they went on the next part of their journey (library, etc.)

 

Last week, I finally emptied this shelf and one other…and there it sat, looking lost and as if it no longer had a purpose.

And then my daughter arrived…to bring back one of my suitcases she had borrowed…and she eyeballed the empty bookcase.  She and I have very different ideas about books and shelves, but we agree on “re-purposing” items, and I could tell by the look in her eye that she had a plan.

She asked if she could have it…and then, when I agreed, she loaded it into her car.  It would be taking up residence in her sun room/den…as, wait for it!  An entertainment center.

Next time I’m at her home, I will take a snapshot of it in its new life.

***

Meanwhile, I happily enjoy my new office space…and the purging is on hold for a while.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My thoughts are on the upcoming holidays.

 

december dining room - christmas

***

Do you enjoy finding new uses for old favorites? 

***

8 thoughts on “A NEW JOURNEY FOR AN OLD FAVORITE

    • Yes, I loved that bookcase, but it did take up a lot of room….but my daughter will make good use of it, along with the other bookshelves I’ve given her…and even some dinnerware (the Coca Cola ones I gave her earlier in the year).

      Thanks for stopping by, Nise, and I’m loving the new office arrangement…and eager for my next house guests to enjoy how much space is available, even after the couch is pulled out.

      Like

    • Thanks, Patty, I do love that, even after all the donations, I still have a lot of nice hardcover books, in addition to my e-books. I am guessing 400 or so print books, down from 1435. I will actually count them one of these days.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

