ENTER MY INTERIOR WORLD: MUSINGS

coffee-books-enter-my-world

Good morning!  It’s Monday, and time to join Jenn at A Daily Rhythm to muse on a variety of topics.

She has provided a number of potential topics below:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Why do you read?

***

First, I’m going to chat about a book I’m eager to possess:  What She Knew, by Gilly MacMillan.  It will be released on December 1, so not very long to wait.

 

25817531

In her enthralling debut, Gilly Macmillan explores a mother’s search for her missing son, weaving a taut psychological thriller as gripping and skillful as The Girl on the Train and The Guilty One.

In a heartbeat, everything changes…

Rachel Jenner is walking in a Bristol park with her eight-year-old son, Ben, when he asks if he can run ahead. It’s an ordinary request on an ordinary Sunday afternoon, and Rachel has no reason to worry—until Ben vanishes.

Police are called, search parties go out, and Rachel, already insecure after her recent divorce, feels herself coming undone. As hours and then days pass without a sign of Ben, everyone who knew him is called into question, from Rachel’s newly married ex-husband to her mother-of-the-year sister. Inevitably, media attention focuses on Rachel too, and the public’s attitude toward her begins to shift from sympathy to suspicion.

As she desperately pieces together the threadbare clues, Rachel realizes that nothing is quite as she imagined it to be, not even her own judgment. And the greatest dangers may lie not in the anonymous strangers of every parent’s nightmares, but behind the familiar smiles of those she trusts the most.

Where is Ben? The clock is ticking…

***

Doesn’t this tempt you?  Grab you in a thrilling way?  Or perhaps you are not as fascinated with thrillers as I am…but adding this one to my stack will be a no-brainer.

***

Why do I read?  Wow, where to begin.

Well, at the beginning.  I grew up on a farm miles from anything interesting happening in the world.  There were lots of chores, there was no TV until much later…and my mother took me to the library every week.  There I found fascinating worlds outside my own, and I soon immersed myself in them.

I have not stopped engaging with characters, settings, and worlds outside my own in lo these many years.  I think I’m hooked!

For those who have visited this blog, or one of my others, you know that my obsession with books has extended to the acquisition of them.  Too many, some might say.  I have done some purging, but I always want to feel the bookish world encircling me every day.

What about you?  Why do you read?  What are you reading, and what do you want to read next?

***

12 thoughts on “ENTER MY INTERIOR WORLD: MUSINGS

    • Yes, me too, Nise, and in some ways, I think not having a TV back then was a good thing, and led to my enjoyment of reading.

      My own kids had TV, VCRs, and video games…and only my two oldest enjoy reading.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  1. There’s no such thing as owning too many books in my opinion!

    Being able to get lost in a book is one of life’s greatest pleasures and finding a book with amazing characters that you can engage with is great 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my post earlier!

    Like

  2. Hand up! I grew up without TV too, didn’t arrive in our house until I was about 14. I read everything I could get my hands on, which wasn’t much. Our local library didn’t start up until I was in my teens so… However I managed to scrounge around!

    Like

    • Yes, it was hard to get enough to read for me, too, as soon I had read everything I wanted to read in our tiny library…but then there was a larger library in a town ten miles away. LOL. Thanks for stopping by, Kathryn, and I love how we found a way to feed our “addiction” for books.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

