INTERIOR THOUGHTS: CHANGES & LOOKING BACK

cropped-picmonkey-collageij-with-yellow.jpg

At some point during the past couple of weeks, I created the above header here.

Finding new ways to showcase the blog, I am often searching through various themes and trying out new headers.  Yes, I am easily bored.

Early on, I noticed that some bloggers did not recommend changes….it might distract from the brand.  Well, that could be true, but I am more interested in finding new ways to keep up my own interest…and hopefully, the bloggers who enjoy that about me will continue to visit.  LOL.

A couple of days ago, I also changed the theme and look of my website.

 

PicMonkey Collage-website - nov 7

 

I decided on the Hemingway Rewritten theme…it felt appropriate for a writer.

***

You might think that I am overly fond of that blackboard featured in this header and also in the header above.  I even used it at my Serendipity blog.  It reminds me of the days I was in elementary school, with teachers who wrote on a blackboard, trying to ignite our passions for learning.

Now that I think of it, though, all that chalk dust…probably not a good thing.  Nowadays, I think they use whiteboards.

Here is a glimpse of me, back in the day of blackboards:

 

 

Lrs at age seven

 

I was seven in this photo, and on my birthday that year, the teacher drew a birthday cake on the blackboard, using colored chalk.  That was her treat to each birthday child.  The cake below reminds me of that birthday cake in chalk.

 

birthday cake

 

Do you have special memories from childhood?  From your school days?  Do you bring those memories forward into your writing and blogging?

Enjoy!  Thanks for stopping by.

***

 

6 thoughts on “INTERIOR THOUGHTS: CHANGES & LOOKING BACK

  1. Hmmm…you have to be careful with whiteboards, too…some kids are allergic to the smell of the markers. I think I still work my life seasonally…no more bulletin boards but my house always reflects seasonal changes…

    Like

    • I love seasonal changes, too…Fall is my favorite season.

      I wonder when they stopped using blackboards? And ours, at school, were green at the end. Way back in the day, they were black, of course.

      Thanks for stopping by, Patty.

      Like

  2. Hmm I pretty much think you’re the brand so how you do your header doesn’t matter if you change it up every so often. I can understand that desire to play around and be creative – it’s fun. I remember using blackboard and chalk – often got it on my clothes. Whiteboards only came in for us in the early 2000’s. I remember being grumpy about it and saying well so long as the school provided us with fresh markers all the time. They run out quickly, numerous times they would write weakly and I would throw them in the bin and search for a fresh one. Changes!

    Like

    • Thanks, Kathryn, I like to think I’m the brand, too…LOL. As for the chalk, I remember not liking how it felt on my hands after working with it. And yes, it got on the clothes. The whiteboard came about after my children were out of school, but I’ve noticed it in the classrooms of my grandchildren. Those markers do go out quickly.

      Other changes in the classroom feel disconcerting to me, like not teaching cursive writing. I guess they think everyone will always be using keyboards….

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

