INTERIOR THOUGHTS: PROTESTS, MAKING A DIFFERENCE, & THE WRITING LIFE

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Good morning, and welcome to my Interior World.

I love the desktop background above…I shot this one a while ago, featuring one of my favorite coffee mugs and the Fall images on the laptop.

Fall is my favorite season, and it’s not just because my birthday is in October.  Or because my second son’s birthday is on the 5th, and that I have several other family members born this month.

Maybe it’s the crispness of the air (I can ALMOST feel it here, but there is still a bit of warmth from summer).

As a kid, I remember the wonderful Fall feelings as I trudged to the school bus, eager to begin again.  I loved school, despite some of the annoying aspects like bullying, etc.  Yes, I was a bookworm, so I was fair game for some of the kids.

But at some point, I learned to deal with them.  I gave them a taste of their own medicine…and the bullying stopped.

Not everyone is so lucky, and these days, bullying has escalated and taken on forms previously unimagined, with viral messages and images.

I think I was born at just the right time….looking back on it, I think the times were kinder, in many ways…aside from the wars, the protests, etc.  LOL

 

 

anti-war_vietnam_war_protest_rally

 

Those were my college years, so it was only natural that I would be drawn to the message and the hope of a peaceful world.

We learned that protesting did little to change things, despite what some might believe.  Instead, I chose to try to make a difference in individual lives…and was drawn to a helping profession.

 

socialworkAfter thirty years of dedication, I was more than ready to turn to a different kind of life:  hence, the writing and blogging.

***

Speaking of blogging, I have been obsessed with trying new themes in my SIX remaining blogs, and also in my website.  After going back and forth between various “looks” for my website, I ended up back with this same theme, and this header:

 

cropped-picmonkey-collage-another-cj-revised

***

It is Banned Books Week, and tomorrow, I will be posting here on the book I reviewed.  Sheila is leading the pack and sharing our posts throughout the week.  Head on over…and enjoy.  You might be surprised by some of the books that have been banned over the years.  Yes, some of my favorites!

***

Today I’m reading Rainy Day Sisters, by Kate Hewitt, and I have never read this author before, but I’m thoroughly enjoying this one.

 

 

26013684

 

I was drawn in by that gorgeous cover…coziness wins out every time!  And it’s a story of sisters who have been separated for years, and seemingly share very little.  But Juliet, the older sister, invites Lucy to her Bed and Breakfast in the Lake District after a very bad series of incidents occurred in Boston, where Lucy had been living.

Their ambivalence toward their mother Fiona is something they have in common.

***

What does your weekend look like?  Are you planning a getaway, or curling up with a good book or movie?  Enjoy!

***

4 thoughts on “INTERIOR THOUGHTS: PROTESTS, MAKING A DIFFERENCE, & THE WRITING LIFE

  1. I love this post. October is a big month in our family as well. Birthdays (4) Anniversaries (2) and, like you, the crisp October air is a favorite 🙂 Plus, I crave apples in all forms. I’m only a few pages in on Rainy Day Sisters. I think I’m going to like it though.
    We have tickets to see The Martian tomorrow. I’m hoping to get lots of reading this weekend as well as outdoor activities. The snow will blow soon and I don’t want to miss out on the gorgeous Fall weather. Hope you have a great weekend.

    Like

    • Thanks, Mary, so glad you could stop by…and I am so looking forward to apples, too. We don’t have snow here on the valley floor, but we can find snow an hour away later in the year…although our drought this year might prevent a good season of snow. Have fun seeing The Martian!

      Like

  2. After last weekend…and the stresses of this week…I want to lay back with a great book…I want cozy dinners and comfort food and not one bit of pressure. We have three family birthdays in October…everyone of us except Lucy! So there is lots of cake and love story of planning!

    I can’t wait to dive into that book!

    Like

    • Thanks for visiting, Patty, and comfort food is my favorite thing in the Fall…today I had pot roast at Marie Callender’s….I know, I should make it. My mother had a great recipe and I made it a lot, but it was years ago.

      Enjoy relaxing with a good book!

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

