FROM THE INTERIOR: TEDIOUS TASKS & LOVELY REWARDS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My interior world has been mostly confined to my laptop this week.  Yes, it is Bloggiesta time, and while I have been diligently working on my blogs—mostly Curl up and Read, but also some others—I have been hustling to correct some inadvertent errors.  Yes, sadly, I deleted some image files, thinking that was a good thing, an effort to organize the media files on the blog….but the images disappeared from the posts, too.  Sigh.

Some of you may have also read my rant about how I detest the new WP posting/editing system, so I had to find my way around it by going through the old dashboard and working from the “all posts” screen. 

Can we say TEDIOUS?

 

tired

 

Then I discovered a new way.  I would deal with the new system, since I was only adding images, which did not require scrolling down on the “no scroll” posting screen. And I could go through the archives.

But first, of course, I had to go to Amazon and grab the images.

I have finished the book review images back through 2013….and I think that’s enough for now.  But will it bug me in the middle of the night, forcing me to finish the task?  I started the blog in 2009….so the thought of it makes me very tired!  After such a day, I need one of these!

 

 

3006173854_0174fa8955_o

 

And a good book.  I am so enjoying Cathy Lamb’s What I Remember Most, but I am also eager to start the next book on my list.

 

 

19083246

Our main character suffered a horrendous childhood…and then, just when she thought she had discovered happiness, her husband betrays her in a horrific way.  A way that threatens everything she loves.  She runs.  She changes her name.  And she finds happiness…but will it all go away?

I can’t stop reading it!

 

But next, this one awaits:

Someone Is Watching, by Joy Fielding, promises thrills…and more.

 

 

22694047

 

Someone Is Watching is a gripping, fast-paced psychological thriller reminiscent of Rear Window and the works of Lisa Gardner. Fielding has crafted a flawed yet likable heroine in Bailey by allowing her to experience the varied emotions of recovery instead of pigeonholing her as a helpless victim or bloodthirsty vigilante. Not geared to the faint of heart, Fielding’s story of one woman’s search for justice, understanding, and internal peace is nothing short of arresting.”Booklist (starred review)

***

The icing on my cake appeared as a download in Sparky this morning.  A book I have been craving:  Night Night, Sleep Tight, by Hallie Ephron may not have to wait until I read all the others on my list.  I cannot delay gratification very long.

 

 

22693156

 

From the award-winning author of There Was an Old Woman comes a riveting tale of domestic noir, infused with old Hollywood folklore and glamour, set in a town rife with egotism and backstabbing and where fame and infamy are often interchangeable.

Los Angeles 1986: When Deirdre Unger arrived in Beverly Hills to help her bitter, disappointed father sell his dilapidated house, she discovers his lifeless body floating face down in the swimming pool. At first, Deirdre assumes her father’s death was a tragic accident. But the longer she stays in town, the more she suspects that it is merely the third act in a story that has long been in the making.

The sudden re-surfacing of Deirdre’s childhood best friend Joelen Nichol—daughter of the legendary star Elenor “Bunny” Nichol—seems like more than a coincidence. Back in 1958, Joelen confessed to killing her movie star mother’s boyfriend. Deirdre happened to be at the Nichols house the night of the murder—which was also the night she suffered a personal tragedy of her own. Could all of these events be connected?

Her search to find answers forces Deirdre to confront a truth she has long refused to believe: beneath the slick veneer of Beverly Hills lie secrets that someone will kill to keep buried.

***

My reward for tedious hours of filling in image files…LOL.  Bliss!  What do you do to reward yourself for hard work?

***

 

6 thoughts on “FROM THE INTERIOR: TEDIOUS TASKS & LOVELY REWARDS

  1. Hm, I reward myself after a day of hard work with a glass of my favorite red and maybe watching DVRd shows. It’s not an everyday thing but probably a few times/week 😉 GFY on accomplishing all you’ve done with the blog! And I’ve added What I Remember Most to my TBR list.

    Like

    • Thanks, Mary, and one of the best things I’ve learned in life, from a boss I had years ago, was to “nurture myself,” which is another way of rewarding myself for a job well done. For those in stressful jobs, or people with one too many tasks during the day, this is an important lesson…and one I’m unlikely to forget. I like how you reward yourself….and I’m right there with you!

      Like

  2. I just deleted some images yesterday as part of bloggiesta, hoping I haven’t deleted anything in posts. I was aware of it, but had some doubles or ones I loaded then decided I didn’t want. Whenever I do a pic on pic monkey I load it to the blog to see what it looks like. I should really discard as I go!
    Great work. Still on blogger but hope to go to wordpress soon!

    Like

    • Oh, yes, I should have made sure to delete only those that were duplicates. Thanks for stopping by, Kathryn, and if you do go to WP, unless you are self-hosted, you will discover that new posting system…not everybody loves it; I certainly don’t. But I’m happy to get into a post via the dashboard, for now.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

