INTERIOR THOUGHTS: UPCOMING BOOK RELEASES & MY REVIEW PROCESS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Musing Mondays, hosted by Should Be Reading, asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

 

I literally cannot wait to get the newest book from Halle Ephron:  Night Night, Sleep Tight.  I loved another book by this author, (There Was an Old Woman), and then again, the name Ephron is a draw, all on its own.

It is not coming until March…sigh, but knowing how time seems to fly, that is not so bad.

 

 

22693156

 

From the award-winning author of There Was an Old Woman comes a riveting tale of domestic noir, infused with old Hollywood folklore and glamour, set in a town rife with egotism and backstabbing and where fame and infamy are often interchangeable.

Los Angeles 1986: When Deirdre Unger arrived in Beverly Hills to help her bitter, disappointed father sell his dilapidated house, she discovers his lifeless body floating face down in the swimming pool. At first, Deirdre assumes her father’s death was a tragic accident. But the longer she stays in town, the more she suspects that it is merely the third act in a story that has long been in the making.

The sudden re-surfacing of Deirdre’s childhood best friend Joelen Nichol—daughter of the legendary star Elenor “Bunny” Nichol—seems like more than a coincidence. Back in 1958, Joelen confessed to killing her movie star mother’s boyfriend. Deirdre happened to be at the Nichols house the night of the murder—which was also the night she suffered a personal tragedy of her own. Could all of these events be connected?

Her search to find answers forces Deirdre to confront a truth she has long refused to believe: beneath the slick veneer of Beverly Hills lie secrets that someone will kill to keep buried.

***

The cover grabbed my attention first, after the author’s name, and then the words “domestic noir” and “old Hollywood folklore and glamour,” suspense and long buried secrets.

***

I am hoping that I will find this title on Vine at some point.  I do love getting those ARCs to review…but then again, this is one I would love to have on my shelves.  Like this shelf:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now that I am purging my shelves regularly, (click the link to find out more), there is room available…LOL.

I am also drawn to the topic of reviewing.  Someone commented recently about the process of reviewing, and asked others what that is like for them.

I have been reviewing regularly for Amazon and Goodreads since 2008, and then I started reviewing on my various blogs.  With 1163 reviews posted on Amazon, I have definitely had to fine tune my reviews.  And as I read some of my earlier ones, I am embarrassed.  Not that good, is all I ‘m saying.  LOL

Now what works for me is writing the review immediately after finishing a book.  I sometimes even have a Word doc in progress as I read, jotting down my thoughts, and then pulling it together afterwards.

I have varied my reviews from mostly story points, without spoilers, to brief story points, a character analysis, and what I enjoyed.

Depending on the book, some of these thoughts will be meatier than others.

I post my reviews on Amazon, Goodreads, and one of my blogs…and they are linked on Facebook, too.  And Twitter.

***

What are you musing about today?  Upcoming reads?  Recent reads?  Thoughts on reading/reviewing?

***

15 thoughts on “INTERIOR THOUGHTS: UPCOMING BOOK RELEASES & MY REVIEW PROCESS

  1. Loving the look of Night, Night, Sleep Tight and I’m going to check out the other one by this author as I do like good psychological thrillers. I’m glad I’m not the only one who looks back at the earliest reviews I did with a hint of embarrassment. I deleted one from Amazon as I really couldn’t work out what I was trying to say… hopefully they’re better now. I tend to write my review after reading the book although I may amend it over the next couple of days before publishing on my blog. I rarely take notes but often wish I did because it would make it easier.

    Like

  2. OMG! I have night night sleep tight…I can’t believe it!

    I live the way you write reviews and most people seem to like a less wordy more personal approach to book reviews…that’s my style!

    Like

  3. I think we’ve all improved since the early days of reviewing. I also have to write my thoughts down after finishing a book (or as I’m reading). That said, I’m still not very confident in my writing. I just try to keep the “reviews” short with no spoilers.

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Mary, and I think that some books are harder to review than others, and not necessarily the big, hefty ones; and other reviews seem to write themselves. But avoiding those spoilers is sometimes a challenge, and then if you put only what was in the blurb (in your synopsis), some trolls on Amazon still make accusations about spoilers…LOL.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

