FROM THE INTERIOR: BOOK TO MOVIE – LOOKING AHEAD

bigts_onesheet-sm-resized

 

Today, despite the rain, I plan to see this movie.  I love Nicole Kidman…and I adored this book.  Just in case you missed it, here is my review of the book:

 

Before I Go to Sleep:

 

813inqyrfil-_sl1500_

 

Every day that Christine Lucas awakens, her mind is blank. Any memories or thoughts from the day before, or any previous days, are wiped clean. Erased. This has been her life for more than twenty years, and the man who wakes up with her is called Ben. He says he is her husband.

Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel is a nightmare. A story that can make the reader increasingly paranoid, as each day seems to bring snippets of a truth, but is it really the truth, or lies masquerading as truth? Why is Ben lying to Christine? Is Dr. Nash, who comes to collect her and calls each day to tell her where to find the journal she is keeping, also lying? Is anything real? Or is she imagining even the things she believes she knows? Are the journal entries even true? Or did she fictionalize everything?

We don’t learn what really happened to Christine until much later, and then many of the pieces are missing. Just when we think we have it all figured out, a massive surprise blindsides us. Even when I suspected more was amiss, I wasn’t sure until almost the end. A horror tale of a life gone wrong, with little hope of anything going right again.

Suspenseful, frightening, and ultimately, a relief…once we begin to understand. Some aspects of the story seemed too pat, in the end, falling together too neatly. But by then, I was just happy for the nightmare to end. 4.0 stars.

***

I wonder how this book will fare on the Big Screen?  I am amazed at how many times I enjoy the movie adaptations even more than the books.  Did I just say that?  Bad girl!

Anyway…more later, after I see the movie.

***

4 thoughts on “FROM THE INTERIOR: BOOK TO MOVIE – LOOKING AHEAD

    1. I enjoyed the movie more than the book…but saw one critic giving the movie “rotten tomatoes.” LOL Who are these reviewers? Or do I have hopelessly rotten taste? Thanks for visiting, Patty, and I have mixed feelings about amnesia books…they scare me, but I can’t stop reading them!

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.