RESHUFFLING THE INTERIORS: A TOUCH OF OCDD!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Enter my changed interiors.  Yes, the changes are minor tweaks here and there.  On the hall tree, we have the same dolls, but in the center are my Shaker boxes with the Shaker doll.   I still love those hats and handbags…which I never use.

Here’s the vignette “before.”  Actually, the lunchbox and firefighter doll were removed a while ago.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And over on the sofa table, here are a few tweaks:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And from another view:

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

From this perspective (above), you can see the dining area, and the two cupboards that were switched (on the left) a couple of months ago. 

I love to redecorate, and when my budget will not permit new things, I just rearrange stuff.  Sometimes it takes a few tries to get it just like I want it.

And sometimes, I am changing things up again within a few days.

In one of Mary Engelbreit’s books (and I’m not comparing myself to her!), she referred to her OCDD:  Obsessive Compulsive Decorating Disorder, the constant reshuffling of the interiors.

I’ve definitely got that…and I also call it my Restless Syndrome.

***

Meanwhile, I keep adding books to my interiors, but mostly the print books I receive are review books, and my new purchases are downloaded onto Sparky, so space isn’t an issue.

Some of the review books remain on my shelves, while I collect older books for the box in the garage:  the library collection drive box.

***

In the garage are bins, numerous and stacked on metal shelving.  I plan to go through those someday soon…when it cools off, I tell myself.

Paperwork shredding and disposal of other stuff.  Donations.   Trash.  Whatever.

***

This week I’ve downloaded three e-books: (so far!)

 

Leaves, by Michael Baron, has such a lovely setting and cover.  Here are the opening lines of the blurb:

Welcome to Oldham, CT, a small town rich in Colonial heritage while being utterly contemporary. Situated along the Connecticut River Valley, Oldham bursts with color every fall, as the leaves on its trees evolve into an unmatched palette of scarlet, orange, purple, yellow, and bronze. For more than three decades, the Gold family has been a central part of Oldham in the fall, its Sugar Maple Inn a destination for “leaf-peepers” from all over the country, and its annual Halloween party a stirring way to punctuate the town’s most active month…

 

17908063

 

 

And then I bought Owen’s Daughter, by Jo-Ann Mapson, since I have loved some of her other books.

The blurb begins like this:  It’s been years since Skye Elliot has seen her biological father. He left when she was twelve, breaking her heart, and her life hasn’t exactly been going uphill since. A drug user and alcoholic, Skye is given a choice after a car accident: jail or rehab. It takes eight months to get clean, but the day Skye is released, she has one plan: to be a good mother to her four-year-old daughter, Gracie. But first she has to find her.

 

 

23059022

 

And finally, an old favorite author, Jayne Ann Krentz, has a new book coming soon, but first I wanted to read River Road.

 

91I6RQ4Kr0L._SL1500_

 

Blurb:  It’s been thirteen years since Lucy Sheridan was in Summer River. The last time she visited her aunt Sara there, as a teenager, she’d been sent home suddenly after being dragged out of a wild party—by the guy she had a crush on, just to make it more embarrassing. Obviously Mason Fletcher—only a few years older but somehow a lot more of a grown-up—was the overprotective type who thought he had to come to her rescue.

Now, returning after her aunt’s fatal car accident, Lucy is learning there was more to the story than she realized at the time. Mason had saved her from a very nasty crime that night—and soon afterward, Tristan, the cold-blooded rich kid who’d targeted her, disappeared mysteriously, his body never found.

A lot has changed in thirteen years. Lucy now works for a private investigation firm as a forensic genealogist, while Mason has quit the police force to run a successful security firm with his brother—though he still knows his way around a wrench when he fills in at his uncle’s local hardware store. Even Summer River has changed, from a sleepy farm town into a trendy upscale spot in California’s wine country. But Mason is still a protector at heart, a serious (and seriously attractive) man. And when he and Lucy make a shocking discovery inside Sara’s house, and some of Tristan’s old friends start acting suspicious, Mason’s quietly fierce instincts kick into gear. He saved Lucy once, and he’ll save her again. But this time, she insists on playing a role in her own rescue. . . .

***

Do you get that restless feeling in the fall?  In any other seasons?  What do you do?

***

11 thoughts on “RESHUFFLING THE INTERIORS: A TOUCH OF OCDD!

  1. I love looking at all your collectibles, the geese make me smile and smile, as do your hats! I need to find a hat tree. I love hats and have quite a few, but they’re in boxes. Have a great day!

    Like

    • Oh, thanks, Beth! I love hats, too, and since I don’t wear them, I collect them. I have another hat tree, too, but it is just a pole, and it has two hats and some handbags.

      Glad you enjoy looking at my collectibles. I also love the geese…and the carousel horse, which was on the hall tree, is one I enjoy, too.

      Like

  2. Lol…I don’t think in all of the times I have watched you move things around…that I have seen that bench…which I love…I am your total opposite as far as moving stuff…I know I “got it right” the first time…so moving things bothers me!

    The books look good and yes! I am very restless in the fall!

    Like

    • I can’t believe you never saw the hall tree/bench! I love it, and when I was looking around for places to move into after selling the house, I knew I had to find one with a place for that bench.

      I had searched for a long time before finding this particular item. There is storage inside the bench, too, but I always have it covered with dolls…LOL.

      Fall seems to elicit all of my restless energy. Thanks for visiting, Patty.

      After posting, I’ve been on the phone nonstop, scheduling appointments, etc. Whew! I’m having lunch with a friend, and then we’re seeing This Is Where I Leave You. I know, I’ve already seen it, but I’d love to see it again.

      Like

  3. Pingback: MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: RESHUFFLING, RENEWING…. | Curl up and Read

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

