FROM THE INTERIOR: THE KALEIDOSCOPE TURNS AGAIN – GONE GIRL

Gone Girl EW

 

With the upcoming movie release of Gone Girl, it is impossible for me not to think about the book.

I read and reviewed the book two years ago, and in honor of that, I am reprising my review here.  Back then, on July 30, 2012, I reviewed the book on my Rainy Days and Monday blog, and entitled the review:  The Kaleidoscope Turns.

Are you nostalgic about the book as the movie release approaches?  Have your opinions or feelings changed, now that we will all be seeing the characters from the book on the Big Screen?

Here is my review:

 

Imagine, if you will, a happily-ever-after kind of marriage that slowly turns into a worst-case-scenario: a minefield of hidden explosives. You would then understand a little bit about the lives of Nick and Amy Dunne.

She was the main character in her parents’ Amazing Amy series that made them rich. She was the only child, spoiled, receiving all the attention, yet craving something more.

And there is Nick, born in the Midwest and dreaming of a special kind of life. A writer, someone who could also claim the spotlight. But then the economy collapsed. He and Amy both lost their New York jobs and that life. It’s back to Missouri to Nick’s hometown for the two of them, and the slow dismantling of the perfect life begins.

Suddenly a dramatic shift: it’s their fifth anniversary and Amy is gone. The search, the spotlight on Nick as a killer, and the now flat and devastated turf of their lives is shown to the clamoring public.

Told through alternating points of view, we see Nick’s story and what he shows us in bits and pieces; then we see Amy’s tale told through diary entries.

But in several surprising twists and turns, we begin to form a new picture of each of them. Gone Girl: A Novel reminds me a bit of the kaleidoscope toy I enjoyed in childhood: you turn it one way, and the pieces assemble. Then, with another shift, you have something entirely different.

Gillian Flynn kept me captivated all through this story, and I kept guessing about how things would unfold, but she surprised me still again. Could I even imagine how it would all turn out? No…but then again, grab your kaleidoscope and watch it all reassemble in still another way. Five stars!

 

***

 

13261812

 

***

8 thoughts on “FROM THE INTERIOR: THE KALEIDOSCOPE TURNS AGAIN – GONE GIRL

  1. GONE GIRL is one of my most anticipated fall movies. I’m thinking about re-reading the book before seeing it but maybe it will be best to experience it with “fresh” eyes. I enjoyed your review. A kaleidoscope is the perfect analogy!

    Like

    • I wanted to refresh my memory by reposting my review, since it has been a couple of years since I read the book. I’m afraid I would be lost in the movie if I hadn’t read it…but we’ll see.

      Thanks for stopping by, Pat.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

