HUMP DAY THOUGHTS: HOW DO YOU ORGANIZE YOUR BOOKISH WORLD?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Side View

Side View

 

 

As I contemplate my interior world, the books that languish unread atop my bookcase (above – 18 total!) and my coffee table trunk (below) are a constant reminder of things to do.  The coffee table books include review books on the right (five)…and on the left are “up next” reads (six)…after the review books.  Of course, the “up next” books could change if the mood strikes, and I could go directly to the collection atop the bookcase, where some very tempting titles reside.

 

 

Review books on the right

Review books on the right

 

In an effort to organize my interiors more fully, I actually purged my stacks of books, sweeping away those tomes that I had not received for review; and books that, for whatever reason, I would never read.  I do have to be realistic!

Just as I organized those e-books a while ago, I knew it was time to attack the physical ones.  Yes, alas, attack.  Why was I holding onto books that had no chance of being read?  So off they went to the box in the garage.  They will find new homes when the next library collection drive hits this neighborhood.

All of this is a reminder that, in my obsession to acquire books, I need to think.  Pause.  Contemplate and weigh what I truly love in a book against the urge to simply have a book others have loved. 

Do you struggle with your impulse buying of books?  Does your desire to have a lovely looking tome mean that you will someday have to purge it from your shelves and admit that you made a wrong choice…for you?

Sometimes I simply add those books that are “not for me” to another shelf, my book nook, where I offer them up in the occasional giveaway.  Those stacks also include books I have read and reviewed.  But those books do not fly out fast enough.  They end up looking like this:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To be fair, only the top two rows of books on this shelf (on the left) are the giveaways.  Below are my regular shelves of books I have read, and on the right side are my autographed books.  Not as dire as it might seem at first glance.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

So now I’m off to read some more of those books…sitting in the space (above), while the last cool breeze of morning filters through the open patio door.

I’m reading this book that has already engaged me:  The Stories We Tell, by Patti Callahan Henry.

 

18404097

 

How is your Hump Day unfolding?  Great books?  Plans?  And how do you organize your bookish world?

***

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “HUMP DAY THOUGHTS: HOW DO YOU ORGANIZE YOUR BOOKISH WORLD?

  1. I am sort of purging today, too…but I am getting rid of laundry! I am working my way through all of my fine washables…I have a basket of these as does Den…books? I am just reading and then getting rid of…as best I can!

    Like

    • I agree, Peggy…I did the Kindle reorganization first, and it was time-consuming. But I’m pleased with my various collections…LOL

      You’re right about wanting to handle and look at the hardcovers and paperbacks. Sometimes they seem to be calling out: “Don’t give me away!”

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

