FANTASY INTERIORS VS. REALITY – ORGANIZING MY STUFF

cropped-picmonkey-collage-3rd-june-ij.jpg

 

I love the look of the sitting room/library in this, my new header.  I found it on Pinterest...and since I often dream of interiors unlike my own, I had to use it in this way.  As a header…and a reminder of how spaces CAN look.

For one thing, I would love to have a room with all my books together, encased in lovely shelves that wrap themselves around my sitting area.  All the books would be alphabetized…and they would also be sectioned into genres.

All the books in a series would be together…and it would be so easy to find everything in this dream world of mine.

In actuality, my books are alphabetized, but only on individual bookcases or shelves that are in many places:  my bedroom (five shelves); the hallway (two shelves); the bathroom (one shelf); the living room (two large shelves); the office (three shelves); and in the dining room I have assorted cupboards with trinkets and books on the shelves.  Like in this photo below:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also have shelves for movies.  In the hallway are my DVDs….You can see them on the right side of the photo below.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I even have some videotapes.  Yes, odd in this day and age, but the ones that remain now—after today’s clearing out—are the ones that I do not have in a DVD format, and probably won’t buy as a DVD.  (Or, in the case of Looking for Mr. Goodbar, the DVD is very expensive, like more than $100.00 for the collector’s version).

But before this morning, I had some duplicates.  No more!  I have recycled the ones that I no longer wish to keep…and here’s the little wicker shelf with the remaining tapes.  (Some of the tapes I recorded myself over the years, and some include family stuff).

For our “photo op,” I turned the case around so the tapes are visible.  Normally it will be set up against the sofa arm.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Before I moved from the foothills house, I had a garage sale that eliminated many of the videotapes I had.  You might ask:  Who even has a VCR these days?  Well, I have a combination VCR/DVD player…but once that no longer works, I’ll bet they will be impossible to find.

I still need to go through the bins in my garage and shred paperwork….and then decide what to do with those excessive dolls and bears!  Some of which are shown below, as they were in my foothill house.

You might be pleased to know that many of these reside in those aforementioned bins, now that I have downsized.

 

Friant Ireland Room 2

Do you have collections that were once relevant to your life…and now need to be dealt with?  What organizational challenges do you face?

***

7 thoughts on “FANTASY INTERIORS VS. REALITY – ORGANIZING MY STUFF

  1. I love your eclectic style! It’s way more fun than the organized Pinterest photo. I would copy your style if I could, but hubby and daughter find my taste a bit “out there”.

    Once, when we lived in South Florida, I decorated my whole dining room in a theme–right down to the red chili pepper ceiling fan, the fake butterflies on the way, the green teak dining set, the wooden palm tree with coconuts centerpiece, the wooden parrot on a swing, the tabletop fountain, etc etc. My brother was amazed when he visited, but my family just shook their heads. I have not had the opportunity nor the money to engage that “side of me” since, but I still don’t follow traditional decorative trends at all.

    I say keep your dolls and bears on display, hide your VCR tapes in a closet, and everything’s fine 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Rita…LOL. I spent three years after retirement working for a private foster care agency, so my combined pension and salary allowed me to do something I had never been able to do: indulge in collecting and filling my space with all the things that pleased me (within reason).

      My daughter is my biggest foe (that might be a harsh description)…she calls me a hoarder! But other people, like you, take pleasure in my quirky side.

      Love your description of what you did to the Florida space…I would have loved to visit!

      But as for my space, since I don’t live with anyone else, it should be my choice…right? Thanks for reminding me of that!

      When I downsized, however, I did have to put a few things in the garage. I could rotate them in and out…that might work.

      Something to think about. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. Hmmm…I try to stay organized and just weed through things when I am in the mood…but…I tend to ” bin” things…soon I need to go through the bins!

    Like

    • Yes, the bins are a marvelous invention! I like that they are see-through, but when they are very full, it is impossible to see everything in them…LOL. Thanks for stopping by, Patty, and even though I think I am organized, I am always noticing something else that needs a tweak.

      Like

  3. Pingback: THURSDAY POTPOURRI: ALAS, A READING SLUMP! WHAT TO DO? | POTPOURRI

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

