INTERIOR THOUGHTS: ORGANIZING ON A SATURDAY

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today as I slog through the house, cleaning the interiors, I pause before this nook in my office.  Yes, I call it the Book Nook, but seriously?  It just looks like a place in need of a purge!

But the books on the top left are those that are linked on my Book Nook page…for giveaway.  They don’t fly out fast enough, though, so I may have to think of something else.

Those on the right, atop the filing cabinet:  in front are some DVDs, but behind those are autographed books.  Now those are collectibles..right?  I can’t give those away. 

The nook was formerly a closet with horrible sliding doors.  I removed those, attached the curtains, which I could close…but I like the pulled-back effect.

My office is the most cluttered space in my home, but it feels cozy.  The photos on the walls are layered and reveal much about me and my family and friends.

 

Left wall of office

Left wall of office

 

This wall, below, is to the right of my computer area…and the bulletin board you see is stuffed with photos and memorabilia.  Above the bulletin board is an autographed photo of Victoria Rowell (author/actress) from BEA 2008.

My calendar to the left features vintage typewriters…a different one for each month.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And this photo (below) has a dark glow about it…I like the hues.   Below the photo display is another bookcase.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I suspect that this space will remain as it is…it feels like a cozy cocoon.  But dusting it is always a challenge!

Organizing my space in the next few months is going to involve going out in the garage and sorting through the see-through bins…shredding paperwork and then moving more stuff out of the house into the empty bins.

Sounds easy enough…right?

I think it’s a task that should involve more than one person…a party, perhaps.  Wouldn’t that be more fun?

How do you motivate yourself to organize and clean your spaces?  As I ponder that, here’s a word of advice I like:

 

88ff634cf063fa9a3fed6e1acc6ca6ae

***

4 thoughts on “INTERIOR THOUGHTS: ORGANIZING ON A SATURDAY

  1. I love that quote! I really do hate clutter but I also hate dealing with it…I rely too heavily on pretty bins and baskets. When they are full…then I try to get rid of everything!

    Like

  2. No that is not easy work! Admire you for even thinking about it. I need to do the same – but not today or even this month.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

