HUMP DAY THOUGHTS FROM THE INTERIOR: WHAT DISTURBS YOUR SLEEP?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wednesdays are strangely peaceful days for me.  Halfway through the week, with some blog posts behind me.  Today’s big one is Waiting on Wednesday, in which we share upcoming releases we are eagerly anticipating.

I wasn’t even sure that I would share a WOW post today, as I watched a movie until late last night, and then, upon awakening, and after grabbing coffee, I tried to Skype with my son in Berlin.  This is not as easy as it might sound.  I have to calculate the time difference and then find him online.  And sadly, I missed him!

 

Craig, in Fuengirola, Spain - Snapped by Gabi

So that’s when I settled down to write a post and visit some blogs.

But I couldn’t stop thinking about the movie that kept me up so late.  An older movie, from 2010, I had recorded it from HBO.  The Debt, starring Helen Mirren, Jessica Chastain, and Sam Worthington, among others, captivated me.

 

91s4OjNN+VL._SL1500_

Academy Award winner Helen Mirren and two-time Academy Award nominee Tom Wilkinson star in The Debt, “a pulse-pounding and politically charged suspense thriller.” (Karen Durbin, Elle) In 1966, three Mossad agents were assigned to track down a feared Nazi war criminal hiding in East Berlin, a mission accomplished at great risk and personal cost – or was it? Thirty years later, the suspense builds as shocking news and surprising revelations compel retired team member Rachel Singer (Mirren) to take matters into her own hands. Co-starring Sam Worthington, Jessica Chastain and Ciarán Hinds, it’s the film critics call “an intelligent thriller with superb performances.” (Claudia Puig, USA Today)

***

It is hard for me to sleep soundly after such a thriller…why did I watch it so late?  Sigh.  As expected, my dreams were twisted and frightening, and I tossed and turned.

So my coffee this morning had to be STRONG.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had also just finished a nail-biting suspense novel, The Innocent Sleep (click for my review), so I imagine the scenes from the book and the movie combined in my head to thwart my peaceful sleep.

Today I will be reading Glitter and Glue, which I expect will be less disturbing..LOL.

 

17910544

 

Do you sabotage your sleep with movies and books that mess with your head?  Or are you more sensible, choosing wisely what you will read just before you nod off for the night?

I need to forage through my stacks and find some feel-good books to read!  Like this one, perhaps….The Silver Boat, by Luanne Rice, has been waiting patiently on my pile, set on Martha’s Vineyard.  Yes!

 

513CvoZ9WOL._SY346_

 

***

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “HUMP DAY THOUGHTS FROM THE INTERIOR: WHAT DISTURBS YOUR SLEEP?

    • Thanks for stopping by, Beth…I am glad I’m not the only one! LOL

      But it’s hard to resist a page-turning book or a movie that is suspenseful just because it is almost bedtime. I need to plan better….

      Like

    • Oh, no! That happens to me sometimes, too, Shelleyrae….but usually it’s because I’ve kept reading a book, thinking I can finish. But I need to make better choices of which books to read at night! LOL

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

