ENTER THE INTERIOR FOR INTROS/TEASERS — “GOLDEN STATE”

y8ekqo13031746531

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Should Be Reading.

Today’s featured book is Golden State, an ARC by Michelle Richmond.

 

81PNtKqQyUL._SL1500_

 

Intro/Beginning:  Prologue

Tell me a story, he said.

So I told him about my first morning in San Francisco.  It was July, summer in the city, foggy and cold.  I was tired and jet-lagged and had yet to unpack, but I wanted to see the famous California coast.  I took a bus over the Golden Gate Bridge to San Rafael, where I boarded a shuttle to Point Reyes.

Alone, I wandered along the cliffs in the freezing fog, out to the lighthouse.  I stood gazing at the roaring Pacific, a crazy-looking ocean, infinitely more dangerous and dramatic than the Gulf Coast waters I knew so well.  On a small hill above a meadow, I followed a picket fence for several hundred yards, curious where it led.  And then, without warning, the fence abruptly ended.  A narrow ditch split the ground in two; on the other side, the fence continued on its way.

***

I had to work sometimes not to become envious of the parents whose children were theirs to keep.  At a play group, a party, an Easter egg hunt—wherever—I would find myself standing beside another mother, who would point to a child and say, “That one’s mine.” (124).

***

Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jacquelyn Mitchard, and Anna Quindlen, Golden State is a powerful, mesmerizing new novel that explores the intricacies of marriage, family, and the profound moments that shape our lives.

Doctor Julie Walker has just signed her divorce papers when she receives news that her younger sister, Heather, has gone into labor. Though theirs is a strained relationship, Julie sets out for the hospital to be at her sister’s side–no easy task, as the streets of San Francisco have erupted into chaos. Today is the day that Californians vote on whether or not to secede from the United States. Today is also the day that Julie will find herself at the epicenter of a violent standoff in which she is forced to examine both the promising and painful parts of her past–her Southern childhood; her romance with her husband, Tom; her estrangement from Heather; and the shattering incident that led to her greatest heartbreak.

Infused with emotional depth and poignancy, Golden State takes readers on a journey over the course of a single, unforgettable day–through an extraordinary landscape of love, loss, and hope.

***

What do you think?  Would you keep reading?  I have loved two other books by this author, so I am eager to begin.

Advertisements

34 thoughts on “ENTER THE INTERIOR FOR INTROS/TEASERS — “GOLDEN STATE”

    • I love this author’s books…I had preordered this one on Amazon, and then discovered it on Vine…it does have the ugly cover, though…sigh.

      But I post the pretty cover in the blog. Thanks for stopping by, Patty.

      Like

  1. I would definitely keep reading now I’ve started although this isn’t a book I would normally pick up! I’ve just read your comment to Patty and that is why I wouldn’t pick it up as the cover is ugly! I am so shallow 😉 Thanks for bringing this one to my attention.

    Like

    • Oh, Cleopatra….only the ARC cover is ugly! Sometimes, with an ARC, we get the “real” cover, as depicted above in my post. No worries…if you get it some other way, the cover will be pretty. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. I love Michelle Richmond! Okay, so I’ve only read one of her books, but it was SO good. I can’t believe I haven’t heard of this one. It’s one I definitely need to add to my wish list.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s