A TWISTED & FASCINATING JOURNEY — A REVIEW

3286When TV newswoman Britt Shelley wakes up next to the dead body of police detective Jay Burgess, she has no memory of the events of the previous night, except that she had met Jay at a local bar, and then went to his condo when he told her he had something to reveal…a secret that would change many people’s lives.

But now she doesn’t know if he even told her the secret. She believes she was drugged with a substance that erased her memory. But nobody is buying her story, and soon she is suspected of his murder.

But before she can plan how to deal with the situation, she is abducted and taken to a remote cabin.

Firefighter Raley Gannon’s life was ruined when he was set up for a crime five years before. When he heard Britt’s press conference in which she alleges being drugged, her story strikes a familiar chord, and he takes action and grabs her. To learn more.

Britt teams up with him, and the two set out to discover the truth. They are pursued by men who are set on stopping them, even through death.

But who can Britt and Raley trust? As they reach out to various individuals, they are astonished at who is behind the cover-ups of a murdered man in police custody and a devastating fire–all a smoke screen for the true secrets and who is behind them.

I loved the twists and turns in this story, and how, just when I thought I had it figured out, another suspect is revealed. In the end, Smoke Screen: A Novel was a very satisfying, if somewhat predictable read that held my attention throughout. Four stars.

12 thoughts on “A TWISTED & FASCINATING JOURNEY — A REVIEW

    • It is, Sam…and there was even a TV movie made from this book, but it was awhile ago that I saw it. I had forgotten most of it by the time I read this, so the book was still surprising for me…lol. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  1. Oh! I didn’t recognize it when you told me the title the other day. Yes, I did read this a couple of years ago and enjoyed it. You know, with Sandra Brown books, they can waver between a 3-4 star ratings depending on the “heat” in the story. If the plot is good and the MC doesn’t throw herself at men she just met with insta-lust, then it is a very good read for me. Thanks for reminding me. Deadline, which I just read and have to review, would be a good book for you to pick up.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

