MONDAY FROM THE INTERIOR: MUSING ABOUT UPCOMING BOOKS — SEPT. 9

logo

Welcome to another Monday from the Interior.  Today we’re spotlighting Musing Mondays, hosted by Should Be Reading.

It’s been awhile since I participated, so I’m feeling eager to begin.  Here are some topics:

Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

***

I’m going to talk about books I can’t wait to get my hands on.  I have a little notebook in which I list my upcoming orders.  Preordering books from Amazon is kind of my downfall, and on more than one occasion, I’ve had to cancel one or two because I went overboard.

But here’s what I have coming in the next few weeks:

W is for Wasted, is my eagerly awaited Sue Grafton read (Alphabet Series):

815yQf-3mLL._SL1500_

I love this series, and today I had an e-mail that this book is shipping this week!  Yay!

Here’s the blurb:  Two dead men changed the course of my life that fall. One of them I knew and the other I’d never laid eyes on until I saw him in the morgue.

The first was a local PI of suspect reputation. He’d been gunned down near the beach at Santa Teresa. It looked like a robbery gone bad. The other was on the beach six weeks later. He’d been sleeping rough. Probably homeless. No identification. A slip of paper with Millhone’s name and number was in his pants pocket. The coroner asked her to come to the morgue to see if she could ID him.

Two seemingly unrelated deaths, one a murder, the other apparently of natural causes.

But as Kinsey digs deeper into the mystery of the John Doe, some very strange linkages begin to emerge. And before long at least one aspect is solved as Kinsey literally finds the key to his identity. “And just like that,” she says, “the lid to Pandora’s box flew open. It would take me another day before I understood how many imps had been freed, but for the moment, I was inordinately pleased with myself.”

In this multilayered tale, the surfaces seem clear, but the underpinnings are full of betrayals, misunderstandings, and outright murderous fraud. And Kinsey, through no fault of her own, is thoroughly compromised.

And next, I’m eager to read another book by Kristina Riggle…I have enjoyed all of her previous books.  The Whole Golden World sounds like a book I can’t wait to get my hands on, and is coming November 5.

91VmJ5G0bUL._SL1500_

Blurb:   Seventeen-year-old Morgan Monetti shocks her parents and her community with one simple act: She chooses to stand by the man everyone else believes has exploited her—popular high school teacher TJ Hill. Quietly walking across a crowded courtroom to sit behind TJ, and not beside her parents, she announces herself as the adult she believes herself to be.

But her mother, Dinah, wants justice. Dinah is a fighter, and she believes with all her heart and soul that TJ is a man who took advantage of her daughter. He is a criminal who should be brought to justice, no matter what the cost to his family.

Rain, TJ’s wife, is shocked that her handsome, loving, respected husband has been accused of a terrible crime. But has her desperation to start a family closed her eyes to the fault lines in her marriage? And can she face the painful truths about herself and her husband?

Told from the perspectives of these three remarkable women, The Whole Golden World navigates the precarious territory between childhood and adulthood, raising questions about love and manipulation, marriage and motherhood, consent and responsibility. It’s a novel both shocking and unforgettable in its power.

***

I have a few more coming in November, but these are the first ones I’m eagerly awaiting.  What are you musing about today?

18 thoughts on “MONDAY FROM THE INTERIOR: MUSING ABOUT UPCOMING BOOKS — SEPT. 9

    • I really would love to meet her, too; I saw her on a talk show a few years ago, and she seems really down to earth. And Kristina Riggle’s Keepsakes was my first book of hers…but I went on to read a couple more. Thanks for stopping by, Catherine.

      Like

  1. Hi Laurel-Rain, thanks for dropping by my blog. 🙂

    The Whole Golden World sounds pretty interesting. Thanks for sharing that one! I’ll keep my eyes open for it at my local bookstore.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

