A JOURNEY ACROSS A GREAT DIVIDE — A REVIEW

What happens when, after twenty-four years of marriage, the wife suddenly realizes that she has lost pieces of herself along the way?

It’s not an unusual story, given the nature of marriage. But Elizabeth Shore did have dreams, once upon a time. And it’s not as if she can actually blame her husband Jack, since she hasn’t spoken up or protested enough when they ended up moving repeatedly to follow his dreams.

But something inside Elizabeth clicks when Jack takes a job in NY, and their beautiful home, to which Elizabeth feels especially connected, is in Oregon.

Their girls are grown and in college, so Elizabeth’s decision not to follow Jack seemingly affects only the two of them. But she is wrong about that.

I felt something like a little “click” of my own as I read Distant Shores: A Novel, with the beautifully constructed women characters in Elizabeth’s “passionless” women’s group. A group about rediscovering the passion that ignited them all once upon a time. I also liked how Elizabeth finally connected with her once-disdained stepmother Anita after her father’s death. And the secrets about her own mother that helped turn the tide in her quest.

One woman’s journey of self-discovery kept me turning those pages, and even though the plot felt a bit predictable, I did enjoy the search and the chance to reconnect with one’s bliss.

Four stars.

5 thoughts on “A JOURNEY ACROSS A GREAT DIVIDE — A REVIEW

    • That has happened to me many times in my life, and I was especially sorry to have to leave Sacramento and move to Fresno in the 1970s (and I’m still here!). But once I started working, too, it was almost impossible to uproot myself again.

      I could now, since I’m retired; but I have kids and grandkids living here…sigh.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

