MONDAY MEMES: MAILBOX MONDAY & WHAT ARE YOU READING? — MARCH 21

MONDAY MEMES

Welcome to our Monday memes in which we celebrate our past and upcoming weeks in reading, blogging, etc.

Mailbox Monday is hosted through March by I’m Booking It.

What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey.

MAILBOX MONDAY:


This week has been one of purchases made (3) and one (1) book received for review.

1.  Love You More, by Lisa Gardner (purchased)

Review – Publishers Weekly:

Near the start of Thriller Award–winner Gardner’s gripping fifth novel featuring Boston PD Sgt. Det. D.D. Warren (after Live to Tell), D.D.’s former partner and one-time lover, Det. Bobby Dodge, of the Massachusetts State Police, asks her to look into what appears to be a clear-cut homicide case. The evidence suggests that Tessa Leoni, a state trooper colleague of Bobby’s, shot and killed her abusive husband, Brian Darby, who may have kidnapped her six-year-old daughter, Sophie. But Tessa won’t talk about her bruises, her husband, or what might have happened to her child. D.D. examines every detail about the family, while Tessa uses her skills to manipulate the investigation. From Tessa’s point of view, we learn about her and Brian’s courtship, his affection for Sophie, and how the marriage began to disintegrate. Gardner sprinkles plenty of clues and inventive twists to keep readers off-kilter as the suspense builds to a realistic, jaw-dropping finale…

2.  Janeology (e-book), by Karen Harrington

College professor Tom Nelson has it bad in the wake of a devastating tragedy: the death of his son at the hands of his own wife, Jane, who evaded punishment by being declared insane. Tom, on the other hand, might not get off so easy. The prosecutors, believing that Tom should have known his wife’s tendencies and shielded his children, are charging him with “failure to protect.” As Tom wallows in his misery, his mother hires him an attorney, Dave Frontella, who adopts some unusual defense strategies, arguing that Jane’s genealogy is to blame for her problems and that no husband could have predicted her actions. He even goes so far as to hire for his defense team a woman with “retrocognition,” that is, the ability to use a person’s belongings to re-create his or her past. Although the psychic-powers element might turn skeptical readers off, Harrington begins with a fascinating premise and develops it fully. In addition, Tom and his wife emerge as compelling, complexly developed individuals. This debut novel is as much a character study as a legal thriller.

3.  A Moveable Feast, by Ernest Hemingway

The wild young years of the Lost Generation in Paris.

4.  Mothers and Daughters, by Rae Meadows (Review book)

“Rae Meadows has written a richly textured novel of three generations of mothers and daughters who by finding each other, find themselves. In these beautifully interwoven stories of birth and death, love and loss, Violet, Iris, and Samantha explore the genetic threads that connect each to the others. Mothers and Daughters is a powerful novel of women’s secrets and strength.” – Sandra Dallas, New York Times best-selling author of Prayers for Sale and Whiter Than Snow….

I’m very happy with my mailbox this week…except for the part about adding to the TBR stacks!  LOL

****

WHAT ARE YOU READING?


This past week has been busy with wonderful reading, some enjoyable blogging, and life moments.

Here are some blog posts you may have missed:

APPROACHING THE FINISH LINE – ROW 80

INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR MARJA MCGRAW

HUMP DAY POTPOURRI — TAG

Books Read and Reviewed – Click Titles for Reviews:

1.  The Easter Parade, by Richard Yates

2.  Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakthrough, by Ruth Pennebaker

3.  Now You See Her, by Joy Fielding

4.  These Things Hidden (e-book), by Heather Gudenkauf

What’s Up Next?

1.  The Four Ms. Bradwells, by Meg Waite Clayton (Amazon Vine)

Clayton, author of The Wednesday Sisters (2009), has created another tale about a group of female friends that tells the stories of many women. Mia, Lainey, Betts, and Ginger become best friends at law school in 1979, at the cusp of the feminist movement. Now Betts is navigating a Senate hearing to confirm her Supreme Court appointment, and she and her friends have reunited. When a long-buried, dark story from their shared history is dug up, the four escape the media at Ginger’s family’s home on a remote island, which is also the scene of the controversial event. There the women reflect on their past, their relationships with each other and their mothers, and how societal norms led them to hide shocking sexual abuse. Clayton unfolds the story through flashbacks and present-day narration in each woman’s voice. Despite some clunky exposition, this is a stirring and compelling novel about women’s changing roles….

2.  How to Save Your Own Life, by Erica Jong (TBR stacks)

Erica Jong–like Isadora Wing, her fictional doppelganger–was rich and famous, brainy and beautiful, and soaring high with erotica and marijuana in 1977, the year this book was first published. Erica/Isadora are the perfect literary and libidinous guides for those readers who want to learn about-or just be reminded of-the sheer hedonistic innocence of the time. How to Save Your Own Life was praised by People for being “shameless, sex-saturated and a joy,” and hailed by Anthony Burgess as one of the ninety-nine best novels published in English since 1939.

3.  In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote (TBR stacks)

 

A nonfiction novel by Truman Capote, tells the story about the killings of four members of the Clutter family.

4.  Saving CeeCee Honeycutt (e-book) by Beth Hoffman

Hoffman’s debut, a by-the-numbers Southern charmer, recounts 12-year-old Cecelia Rose Honeycutt’s recovery from a childhood with her crazy mother, Camille, and cantankerous father, Carl, in 1960s Willoughby, Ohio. After former Southern beauty queen Camille is struck and killed by an ice cream truck, Carl hands over Cecelia to her great-aunt Tootie. Whisked off to a life of privilege in Savannah, Ga., Cecelia makes fast friends with Tootie’s cook, Oletta, and gets to know the cadre of eccentric women who flit in and out of Tootie’s house, among them racist town gossip Violene Hobbs and worldly, duplicitous Thelma Rae Goodpepper. Aunt Tootie herself is the epitome of goodness, and Oletta is a sage black woman. Unfortunately, any hint of trouble is nipped in the bud before it can provide narrative tension, and Hoffman toys with, but doesn’t develop, the idea that Cecelia could inherit her mother’s mental problems. Madness, neglect, racism and snobbery slink in the background, but Hoffman remains locked on the sugary promise of a new day….

That’s my reading week, past and upcoming…

I’d love to see what the rest of you are reading, have read, and plan to read….

64 thoughts on “MONDAY MEMES: MAILBOX MONDAY & WHAT ARE YOU READING? — MARCH 21

    • I saw the movie (Capote), and decided I should read the book….it’s been on my stacks for awhile, though. Thanks for stopping by, Ryan. I think there are just SO many books out there that we want to read….and not enough time!

      Like

  1. I’ve always wanted to read A Moveable Feast; we even have a small restaurant in a nearby town which took that clever name. Also, I would trust anything Sandra Dallas says, so her endorsement of Mothers and Daughters must be quite accurate. I wonder why Erica Jong books always have to do with women in their panties? Well, I don’t actually wonder, I know, because she was the first author I read who used the ‘f word’. Very scandalous to me at the time. 😉

    Like

    • Ha-ha…I still think about the first time I read Fear of Flying…and how scandalizing we thought that zipless f…k was.

      I’ve read some other Hemingway books, but hadn’t read this one. Reading The Paris Wife made me think about it.

      Thanks for stopping by, Belleza.

      Like

    • Yes, the mailbox and what I’m reading are usually separated by a few weeks. I have to remember the OLDER books on the stacks, too, and there are still a lot of them. Thanks for stopping by, Sheila.

      Like

  2. Wow…so many book in 1 week..I envy you Laurel. I wish I can read as fast as you are.

    Mother and Daughter steal my attention, it looks like a great book. I love my mom and book about parent-children relationship always touch me

    Like

    • I remember being “Amazon friends” with the author, back when our creations were listed on our profile pages at Amazon. That’s where I first saw Janeology, and I’ve been planning to read it for awhile.

      Now they’re separated and on an Author page.

      Thanks for stopping by, Mystica.

      Like

    • You’re all set, then, Esme…you can curl up and read. I love the title of A Moveable Feast. It sounds….well, like a continuous party, doesn’t it? I thought of reading it after I finished The Paris Wife. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  3. I want to read the books you’ve lined up for this week! What a great selection! Erica Jong, I read this soooo long ago, it would be fun to read it again. Cee-cee Honnicut: yes, I want that. Truman Capote – it’s been a while, but a great author.

    Enjoy your books!

    Like

    • Thanks for visiting, Diane…I could (or should) have waited for the library book, too. I get so impatient these days! LOL

      Then there’s the Kindle, which makes “instant gratification” a reality.

      Like

  4. You got some great books, Laurel! Janeology is an interesting read. The Four Ms. Bardwells looks real good. Happy spring and have a great week.

    Like

  5. Some of these books have been screaming at me from my TBR pile, need to move them up!!! I also need to spend less time at the computer and more time reading. I don’t know how you do it all!!

    Like

  6. Oh! Janeology looks really interesting, I may have to check that one out.

    I cannot wait to hear what you think of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt! I adored that book, so sweet, just a magnificent read. Enjoy!

    Have a fabulous reading week and if you get a second stop by There’s A Book to see what we’re reading this week! 🙂

    Like

  7. The Four Ms Bradwells has not escaped my radar.

    Saving CeeCee is such a lovely book from cover to cover and including the cover. I loved this one.

    carol

    Like

  8. I hope you love Saving CeeCee Honeycutt as much as I did. It’s a book I will reread and I don’t do that often. I received Mothers and Daughters also. I didn’t think I had requested it but it was a nice surprise. I hope we both enjoy it as well.

    Like

  9. I enjoyed In Cold Blood. I hope you do too! I’m also reading The Four Ms. Bradwells now – although it started slow, it’s really holding my interest now. Have a great week!

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

