MUSING MONDAYS — OCT. 18

 

Good morning, and welcome to Musing Mondays, hosted by Should Be Reading.

Our hostess has posed her question today:

Do you prefer hardcovers, trade paperbacks (the bigger ones), or mass market paperbacks (the smaller ones)?  Why?

 

Okay, even without my first cup of coffee, I can answer this one…sort of.  I do have all of these formats, but my mass market paperbacks are limited to old favorites.  I try never to buy them.  Why?  They don’t fit nicely on the shelves.  Silly, huh?

My favorites are the hardcovers, because I LOVE the way they look, all lined up beautifully.  I do enjoy the trade paperbacks, too.  They shelve well, also, and they’re easy to hold, especially at night when I’m reading in bed.

Okay, my answers are pretty superficial.  I mean, how they look on the shelves?  But also, I like the ease of stacking and shelving them.  Take a look at a couple of my shelves:

Kids and Books -- My Favorite Things

 

A View of One Shelf

 

As you can see, I like to mix my collectibles with the books.

 

What about the rest of you?  Any particular rhyme or reason to your choices?  I hope to hear all about it.

 

18 thoughts on “MUSING MONDAYS — OCT. 18

  1. I like the trade paperbacks best. But agree the hardcovers look much nicer on my bookshelves. I buy a lot of my hardcover books at the Half/priced bookstore, I always head for the clearance rack, I can get the HC for $2.00. and the paperbacks are $1.00, so you can’t beat the prices.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving such a nice comment.

    Like

    • You’re welcome, Ann, and thanks for visiting here. I do like to get hardcovers at the bargain tables in bookstores. B & N has them really cheap sometimes.

      No matter where or when I get them, it’s a joy to read and collect them. Sometimes I think I’m going to reread more of them, but oftentimes I run out of moments in the day. My “old TBRs” are made up of books I bought a long time ago (up to four years or more). I separate these from the newer ones, just so I can keep track of my progress getting through them. (I have a blog for this journey, of course…LOL).

      Like

  2. I don’t think it is superficial at all! It’s practical! Whereas my shelves are a mess because of the mix! Being a military family, space is of an issue when moving from post to post, so I occasionally have to weed out my stash of multi-sized beauties!

    Like

  3. I think I like all three formats. But, I put them on a separate shelves or separate bookcases depending on the type. I have a place for hardbacks (my favorite) and I have a spot for trade paperbacks (I like those a lot too) and a spot for mass market paperbacks (least favorite). That way they don’t make the whole shelf look funny.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

