MONDAY MEMES — MAILBOX AND WHAT ARE YOU READING? — OCT. 18

 

IT'S MONDAY, AND IT'S ALL ABOUT BOOKS....

Welcome to our Monday Memes, which showcase the books we received in the mail (or purchased) and the books we’ve read, as well as what we’re reading next.

 

 

Monday Mailbox is hosted through October by She Reads & Reads.

 

MAILBOX MONDAY

 

After two weeks of nothing much, I’m pleased with my haul this week.  I received two books to review (from authors/publishers) and two books ordered from Amazon.

1)  My Nest Isn’t Empty, It Just Has More Closet Space, by Lisa Scottoline (from the publisher)

2)  Falling Home, by Karen White (from the publisher)

3)  Solomon’s Oak, by Jo-Ann Mapson (my purchase)

4)  Domestic Pleasures, by Beth Gutcheon (my purchase)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*******

 

What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey.

 

Now, on to the blogging and reading portion.

This past week, I read three books: Check my Sunday Salon post for the review links.

1)  The Home for Broken Hearts – Rowan Coleman

2)  Secret Memoirs of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis – Ruth Francisco

3)  Someone Will Be With You Shortly – Lisa Kogan

 

Ongoing:

The Wild Zone – Joy Fielding

 

What’s Up Next:

Seven Year Switch, by Claire Cook – About a feisty single mom trying to stitch together a life after her husband abandons her.

 

Goodnight, Beautiful, by Dorothy Koomson – Everybody has secrets.  Will this one break someone’s heart?

 

I’m excited!  Not only did I thoroughly love last week’s reads, but this week promises to deliver…again.

What about you?  What are you planning?  I hope you’ll stop by and share.

48 thoughts on “MONDAY MEMES — MAILBOX AND WHAT ARE YOU READING? — OCT. 18

  1. You’ve had a productive reading week, Laurel-Rain. I fear this week won’t be as productive as the last two, as I’m back at home and now Gary is away so I’m housemum and dad this week!

    Enjoy your books.

    Like

  2. Falling Home was in my mailbox a few weeks ago and I hope to read it … eventually. I keep telling myself that 2011 will be spent reading books off my own shelf – my buys, giveaway wins, unsolicited review books. I’m running out of space on my shelves!
    Have a great week, Laurel-Rain.

    Like

    • Oh, I can totally relate to that, Mary! I’ve been trying to balance my reads as well…last week I read two from my “old TBRs,” which are the books I acquired pre-blogging and which I distinguish from my new TBRs. LOL Thanks for stopping by.

      So far, I’ve only received review books that I agreed to read. I dread those “unsolicited” ones. Maybe I’ll be lucky and not get those!

      Like

    • Well, Kimberly, you’ve seen that little hamster on his wheel…that kind of resembles me! LOL

      Mostly I do enjoy the reading, although sometimes I look around at how my bedroom and office have morphed into places where stacks of books take up all the available space, and I sigh….

      Thanks for stopping by, and have a great week!

      Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, P.K. Domestic Pleasures is an older book that I read and reread back in the nineties, I think. Then I lost (or gave away) my copy; I just had to have it to read again.

      This author has also written Still Missing (I know, there’s a contemporary book of the same name), which was made into a movie called Without a Trace, starring Judd Hirsch and Kate Nelligan, about a seven-year-old child that goes missing.

      TMI?

      Like

  3. I can’t wait to hear what you think of Falling Home. I loved Tradd Street! Seven Year Switch is good too. You had a great week!

    Like

    • I think so, too, Zee. I just discovered that I have another book by this author on my “old TBR” stacks. “My Best Friend’s Girl…”I had completely forgotten about it.

      I’ve read a couple of her other books, too.

      Thanks for visiting…..

      Like

  4. Thanks for commenting on my blog! Looks like you got a bunch of good books this week. I still haven’t read anything by Karen White but she’s on my wish list! (I actually own The Girl on Legare Street, but I want to read The House on Tradd Street first.) Enjoy your books!

    Like

    • Joy, I didn’t know about the Scottoline book, either, until the publicist contacted me about reviewing it. I’m very excited. Karen White’s book is one I’ve been wishing for, too.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

