UNIQUE FAMILY CONNECTIONS

Some of my explorations here include the movies I’ve seen and enjoyed.  Recently I saw The Kids Are All Right, starring Julianne Moore and Annette Bening.

I was actually surprised when the movie came to my neighborhood mall, much less my city.  Here in the Central Valley, we are often left out of the mix when it comes to quirky movies (or anything even remotely unconventional).

I had expected to enjoy it, but didn’t have my hopes up too high, as sometimes I am disappointed. So imagine my relief to find that, not only did it surpass my expectations, but I was so into it that I wasn’t bored for even a moment.  Sometimes movies that are about particular themes or topics will be predictable.  But not this one.  Even though there was the inevitable adolescent angst, followed by the search for the absent father, this one had the unique twist of a family headed by two “moms,” who had used a sperm donor.

In fact, each mom had one of the kids and they both used the same donor.  Makes the search easier.

Mark Ruffalo starred as the “sperm donor,” who incidentally was quite interested in forming a bond with the kids.

The kids invite him to their house with the moms and they all start to form a friendship of sorts.   Jules, the character played by Julianne Moore, has just started a landscape business, and  Paul (dad) conveniently hires her to landscape his yard.

Okay, I saw the next bit coming…sort of.  But I won’t describe what happens.

Suffice it to say that a lot of chaos ensues.

Throughout the movie, I most enjoyed the interactions between the family members and absolutely loved seeing the homey backdrop to the family moments. It doesn’t hurt that the other mom, Nick, played by Annette Bening, is a doctor, so the digs are very nice indeed.

I’m definitely preordering this DVD.

A Cozy Family Moment

2 thoughts on “UNIQUE FAMILY CONNECTIONS

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

