WATCH OUT FOR THE SWEET GIRL!

Orphan was a movie that I’d heard about and was hesitant to watch. I’m usually a sucker for the movies about orphans or abused children, and usually these things go hand-in-hand.

From the hype, I knew that this child would be one of those with mental health issues. From the descriptions on the sites, I suspected some kind of psychosis or deep antisocial disorder. But what was revealed as the film leads us down this path of suspense was something I hadn’t suspected. Not once.

The ending was so chilling that I literally couldn’t sleep afterwards. Warning! Do not watch if you want to sleep.

Vera Farmiga is compelling as Kate, the mother, who has suffered depression and a bout with alcoholism after their third child is stillborn. Peter Sarsgaard portrays John, the husband, whom we soon learn has some fidelity issues, thus creating tension between the spouses.

Isabelle Fuhrman, as Esther, steals the spotlight as the disturbed adopted daughter. The other children are very compelling as well, and the movie creates the typical conspiracy of silence between them all, as Esther inspires fear and obedience from them.

When Kate begins to suspect something is very wrong with Esther, she can’t get her husband to even give credence to her concerns. He brushes her off as if she’s nothing. I began to despise him early on for his cluelessness and his inability to see what was staring him in the face.

In the end, though, everyone is a believer. And not to give away the surprises, just be sure to watch closely as the layers of this secret begin to unfold.

I probably would have given this one 4.5 stars, if I could. I deducted a star because, despite the compelling nature of this film, it isn’t one I’ll ever watch again.

Okay, now this is an appropriate Blogoversary moment, don’t you think?  I’m not actually celebrating this blogoversary, since I have too many blogs.

But a few balloons won’t hurt!

One thought on “WATCH OUT FOR THE SWEET GIRL!

  1. Pingback: TUESDAY MEDITATIONS | MEDITATIONS BY LAUREL-RAIN

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

