TIMELY THEMES WOVEN TOGETHER IN A GREAT READ — A REVIEW

The lives of four very different women are about to change in unexpected ways.

It all begins one day when a Princeton senior named Jules Strauss decides to be an egg donor at a fertility clinic. She needs the money to pay for her father’s rehab. Jules is determined to reclaim the father she adored in childhood, as this addicted father is but a shadow of his former self. In a way, she is trying to resurrect her fractured family connections.

Meanwhile, India Bishop, a forty-something woman who married a very wealthy man, but who has many secrets in her past, seems to be seeking redemption. She and her husband Marcus decide to have a baby with a surrogate.

Of course, there’s a fly in the ointment. Stepdaughter Bettina hates India and is determined to ferret out those past mistakes she is sure that India has made, so she hires a private detective.

Annie Barrow married young to her high school sweetheart and has two young boys. She and her husband are struggling financially. Signing up to be a surrogate seems to be the answer.

What none of these women realize is how much all of their lives will turn upside down as a result of their choices. The issues of Then Came You: A Novel are timely and presented in a very unique fashion. The story is told in alternating first person points of view, which offers the reader an intimate connection to each of them.

What events will turn the “best laid plans” of these women upside down and force a very unique solution? What will one of the women do to rectify her own choices?

While I was very interested in this story from the beginning, I became so intrigued about 2/3 of the way through and as a result, I had to carry the book around with me, reading at every opportunity. For me, the story was totally captivating and earned five stars. I can’t wait for the author’s next book!

 


6 thoughts on “TIMELY THEMES WOVEN TOGETHER IN A GREAT READ — A REVIEW

  1. I’ve read mixed reviews about this one, but I’m glad you really liked it! Stories that take me into women’s lives and their struggles, if well-written, always capture my attention.

      • Hi Laurel-rain,

        I liked the sound of this story, but like youself, was a bit concerned about some of the mixed reviews it has received on Amazon.com, they seem to cover the whole range from 1 to 5 stars, in just about equal quantities.

        I checked out the same book on Amazon.co.uk and no-one has even bothered to review it there, and the cover is pretty awful, compared to yours.

        Guess it may go quite a way down my reading list, although I do still want to try it one day

      • Yvonne, I LOVED the book! As for the other reviewers, I don’t know what to make of it, except that sometimes issues like these do elicit a variety of responses.

        Thanks for stopping by.

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

